link to Talbot Project home page link to De Montfort University home page link to Glasgow University home page
Project Director: Professor Larry J Schaaf
 

Back to the letter search >

Document number: 00452
Date: 28 Nov
Dating: corrected from 27th
Watermark: 1805
Recipient: TALBOT William Henry Fox
Author: NICHOLL Jane Harriot, née Talbot
Collection: British Library, London, Manuscripts - Fox Talbot Collection
Last updated: 29th January 2012

Florence
Novr 28th

My dear Henry,

We are very much obliged to you for your letter & advice but as is usual on such occasions, I believe we shall not follow it, the fact is that we shall return by the Perugia road as far Foglino [sic] in the way to Ancona or indeed it is not improbable we may return here so that either way we shall se the most beautiful part of the road & I rather wish to see Siena. I believe we shall go by the Post but I do not agree with you exactly in liking it better than by Voiture[s?] for if I see a plant I want I have to hollow [sic] for half an hour before they will stop the trouble of which stops my botanic ardour amazingly I was excessively sorry that you had left Florence before we arrived for I expected to have been so much fted & petted, as it is even fair Florence herself looks grim at us, we have had quite London weather since we came, incessant rain & whilst we were at Genoa I could hardly believe it was Novr it was really too hot to bear Genoa is the spot in the world the most suited to my taste were it but free but under the present Government beautiful as it is I cd not live there for six months. We went to Pisa by the new road which is not entirely finished for 6 or 7 miles we went along the bed of the river & how we got over it without breaking the Carriage & our own Bones I do not know but I am very glad we came that way for it is beautiful the whole way particularly the Gulf of Spezzia We shall be very much obliged to you or Mr Fielding <1> [sic] to take lodgings for us at Rome we shall arrive on the 21st of Decr we shall want two sitting rooms for ourselves one with a fireplace & to the south one bed room for ourselves, two servants bed rooms & a sitting room with fireplace for them Linen to be found us & our dinner from a restaurateur; We do not want them large or expensive but shd prefer them to be all on the same floor, except the Man Servants which we do not care about. We do not mind being on the second floor I travel with my own bed so we shall only want one in our bedroom this is all I can think of excepting that you may take it from 21st of Decr to 21st of Jany at which time we shall go to Naples which information you may send to William <2> as he is so anxious to hear of us. Pray tell Aunt Lily <3> I expect to see a great deal of the live world at Rome by her help & of the dead world with yours.

I have very good accounts of all at Penrice <4> Charlotte <5> much better & Mama <6> very well How I have written so far with such horrible ink I do not know but I am quite tired of it & so are you so adieu

your aff
Jane H Nicholl

A Monr
Monsieur W. H. Talbot
Poste Restante
a Rome


Notes:

1. Rear Admiral Charles Feilding (17801837), Royal Navy; WHFTs step-father.

2. William Thomas Horner Fox Strangways, 4th Earl of Ilchester (17951865), botanist, art collector & diplomat.

3. Lady Elisabeth Theresa Feilding, ne Fox Strangways, first m Talbot (17731846), WHFTs mother.

4. Penrice Castle and Penrice House, Gower, Glamorgan, 10 mi SW of Swansea: home of Christopher Rice Mansel Talbot.

5. Charlotte Louisa 'Charry' Traherne, ne Talbot (18001880), WHFTs cousin.

6. Lady Mary Lucy Cole, ne Strangways, first m. Talbot (17761855), WHFTs aunt.