link to Talbot Project home page link to De Montfort University home page link to Glasgow University home page
Project Director: Professor Larry J Schaaf

Back to the letter search >

Document number: 01818
Date: Mon 19 Apr 1829
Dating: see 01821 & marriage of Mary Ann
Recipient: TALBOT William Henry Fox
Author: THACKERAY Mary Ann, née Shakespear
Collection: British Library, London, Manuscripts - Fox Talbot Collection
Collection number historic: LA29-51
Last updated: 14th December 2010

April 19th

My dear Henry

I am much obliged to Lady Elisabeth <1> for her kind note & from it I conceive this will find you in Sackville Street. <2>

I am afraid you will think I am going to make you a very troublesome request but if you have any objections of course you will decline

I am sure you will be surprised to hear that I am going to be married & I should be very much obliged to you if you would accept the office of Trustee to the Settlement together with my brother Arthur <3> & Mr Ritchie. The gentleman whom I am going to marry is Mr Thackeray <4> a Clergyman & brother to my late Sister in law Mrs John Shakespear

Will you let me have your answer by return of post directed to me No 29 Southampton Row Russell Sqr & believe me

Yr affete cousin
M. A. Shakespeare

I am only in London for tomorrow as I am staying at Southgate about ten miles from here with my Aunt Mrs Oliver


1. Lady Elisabeth Theresa Feilding, ne Fox Strangways, first m Talbot (17731846), WHFTs mother.

2. 31 Sackville Street, London residence of the Feildings, often used as a London base by WHFT.

3. Arthur Shakespear (17891845).

4. Francis Thackeray (17931842), author.