link to Talbot Project home page link to De Montfort University home page link to Glasgow University home page
Project Director: Professor Larry J Schaaf
 

Back to the letter search >

Document number: 852
Date: 04 Aug 1819
Recipient: FEILDING Elisabeth Theresa, née Fox Strangways
Author: TALBOT William Henry Fox
Collection: British Library, London, Manuscripts - Fox Talbot Collection
Collection number historic: LA19-10
Last updated: 17th December 2010

Ilfracombe <1>
4th August - 1819.

About 36 hours travelling brought me here from London. On my arrival I found the whole party assembled, & that Worsley <2> had taken lodgings for me. I like the place very well, and the party is very agreeable. Worsley and I made an excursion to Linton or Lynemouth which is about 20 miles from here to the East. We found it a beautiful country. In clear weather I can see the villages & even roads on the Welsh coast: but all I have yet been able to recognize is Worms Head, Rossilly village, & the Mumbles light house. - Tell Mr Feilding <3> that I changed my napoleons very advantageously, for 16s 4d each. - when I was in town I dined with Ld Winchilsea <4> where I met Miss Feilding <5> and Gilbert Heathcote. <6> - I went to see the panorama of Venice which is pretty good. I also saw at an engraver's several specimens of Bank Notes which had been sent to the committee of the House of Commons - I travelled as far as Salisbury with a warm partizan of Bennet's - The election was going on actively there. My love to all -

Yr Affte Son
W. H. F.Talbot

Miladi
Miladi Elisabeth Feilding

Poste Restante
Rouen
France


Notes:

1. Ilfracombe, Devon.

2. Rev Thomas Worsley (1797-1885), theologian & Master of Downing College, Cambridge.

3. Rear Admiral Charles Feilding (1780-1837), Royal Navy; WHFT's step-father.

4. George Finch, 9th Earl of Winchilsea (1752-1826).

5. Possibly Matilda Feilding (1775-1849), WHFT's aunt.

6. Sir Gilbert John Heathcote (1795-1867), later 5th Baronet and 1st Baron Aveland.