link to Talbot Project home page link to De Montfort University home page link to Glasgow University home page
Project Director: Professor Larry J Schaaf

Back to the letter search >

Result number 1909 of 2678:   < Back     Back to results list   Next >  

Document number: 7794
Date: Thu 20 Jan 1859
Recipient: TALBOT William Henry Fox
Author: TALBOT Ela Theresa
Collection: British Library, London, Manuscripts - Fox Talbot Collection
Collection number historic: Acc no 20698 (envelope only)
Last updated: 6th February 2015

11 Randolph Crescent

My dear Papa

I am afraid you must find Lacock rather dreary today if you have a high west wind whistling round the house similar to the one blowing here at present – In Cumberland too we hear it is Stormy by a letter Mr Wake received from Ormathwaite this morning – but it appears we are to have no real winter for it cannot be cold two days following.

Mr Wake came to us on Monday, as they could no longer spare him a room in George Sqr when Sarah Spedding and her Uncle arrived there & will remain with us I Suppose a few days. Sarah luckily arrived just in time to go with Mamma & Tilly to Mrs Cockburn’s ball which we were very glad of, as she is fond of them and gets very few in general – There will be another tonight and a music party tomorrow so she will have quite a gay week. –

I had a nice letter from Charles the other day – he seemed delighted that you should have met Dr Vaughan in such an agreeable and unexpected manner –

On Tuesday, the day after you left us, Mamma and I drove to Newhailes about 6 miles off passing through Portotello (the first time we had gone that road) it has very nice sands and is rather a large village with a few Villas & generally ugly looking houses – I suppose in the Summer the Edinburgh shop Keepers go there for the benefit of the Sea air –

I am glad the Rhododendrons arrived Safe – We are intending to go the first leisure day to Comely bank for they say the early Kind is coming into flower there but I suppose there is no hurry yet, as you did not tell us of anything to be seen when you were there the other day –

Good bye dear Papa L yr affectionate daughter

We have begun reading Philip 2d together & I am sure it will be very interesting

H. F. Talbot Esq
Lacock Abbey

Result number 1909 of 2678:   < Back     Back to results list   Next >