link to Talbot Project home page link to De Montfort University home page link to Glasgow University home page
Project Director: Professor Larry J Schaaf

Back to the letter search >

Result number 2 of 16:   < Back     Back to results list   Next >  

Document number: 808
Date: 11 Jul 1818
Recipient: TALBOT William Henry Fox
Author: BONNEY Thomas Kaye
Collection: British Library, London, Manuscripts - Fox Talbot Collection
Collection number historic: LA18-6
Last updated: 3rd February 2012

Normanton <1> nr Stamford
July 11th 1818

Dear Sir,

I am very happy that I am likely to have the Pleasure of seeing you next Week. I shall be at Home till Friday Morning, when I am obliged to go to Coningsby, to attend the Bishop of Lincoln’s <2> Visitation at Horncastle <3> on Saturday

On Thursday morning I shall be engaged at the Sessions at Oakham, but shall return to Dinner. – On Monday I intend to go to Cliffe to see my Mother, & to return on Tuesday or early on Wedy morning, but in this I shall be directed by your coming. Will you have the Kindness to let me know on what Day you are coming, & direct your Letter to me at King’s-Cliffe, Wansford? I wish it may suit you to come on Wednesday. Shall I send a Horse for you to Stamford? And at what Hour? –

If you delay your Journey ‘till after Thursday, I hope I may have the Pleasure of seeing you on your Return. If I had not recd a peremptory order to attend the Bishop at Horncastle on Saturday, I would put off my Journey to receive you. –

I know scarcely any Cambridge News; but I was happy to hear from Linton that you were in the first Class at Trinity Coll. – I beg my respectful Compts to Mr Feilding, <4> & remain, dr Sir

Yr’s very faithfully,
T. K. Bonney.

W. H. F. Talbot Esqre
31. Sackville St. –


1. Normanton, Rutlandshire.

2. Sir George Pretyman Tomline, Bishop of Lincoln and Winchester (1750–1827).

3. Lincolnshire.

4. Rear Admiral Charles Feilding (1780–1837), Royal Navy; WHFT’s step-father.

Result number 2 of 16:   < Back     Back to results list   Next >