link to Talbot Project home page link to De Montfort University home page link to Glasgow University home page
Project Director: Professor Larry J Schaaf
 

Back to the letter search >

Result number 12 of 57:   < Back     Back to results list   Next >  

Document number: 671
Date: 28 Jan 1815
Postmark: [partial] 1815
Recipient: TALBOT William Henry Fox
Author: COLE Mary Lucy, née Fox Strangways
Collection: British Library, London, Manuscripts - Fox Talbot Collection
Collection number historic: LA15-1
Last updated: 7th November 2011

44 Pulteney St <1>
28 Jany

My dear Henry

I sent you a small microscope the other day which I should think you ought to receive about the same time as this letter. there is but one good optician here and the only magnifier I could find like your description belonged to this microscope, so I sent it, with its appurtenances, when screwed all together it is like this [illustration] but you may use it without the Brass tube x – I am afraid after all that there is not one magnifier of the great power which you wished for but in London, we will go to to [sic] my favourite shop Jones’s and there we can have choice this glass will help to pass the time till we meet – I can assure you I feel much pleasure at the thought of visiting you & your companion at Harrow. <2> I donot [sic] know what he will do when you leave it – Jane Charry & Emma <3> arrived thursday [sic] & the 3 days have gone so fast that I can hardly believe so much has elapsed this is I think a sign of happiness, tho’ generally a source of regret, one always wishes happy days to be long ones. The seeds you sent me are sowd [sic] but Jane cannot tell whether any of them have vegetated tho’ they have been in the ground this long time. give my love to Kit <4> and tell him I intend writing to him very soon – I have seen several sights that [will?]<5> be amusing to recount tho’ I am afraid my account will not be very intelligible, this paper is so bad I can scarcely write upon it. Jane scrapes all the old Walls with great perseverance

Affly yours

M: L: T:

Mr Henry Talbot
Revd Dr Butlers <6>
Harrow
Middlesex
Janry 28th 1815 <7>


Notes:

1. Bath.

2. Harrow School: WHFT attended from 1811–1815 and his son Charles from 1855-1859.

3. Jane Harriot Nicholl, née Talbot (1796–1874); Charlotte Louisa 'Charry' Traherne, née Talbot (1800–1880), WHFT’s cousin; Emma Thomasina Llewelyn, née Talbot (1806–1881), photographer; WHFT’s Welsh cousin.

4. Christopher Rice Mansel Talbot (1803–1890), immensely wealthy landowner, mathematician & politician; WHFT’s Welsh cousin.

5. Text torn away under seal.

6. Rev George Butler (1774–1853), Headmaster at Harrow.

7. Written in another hand at the back of address panel.

Result number 12 of 57:   < Back     Back to results list   Next >