link to Talbot Project home page link to De Montfort University home page link to Glasgow University home page
Project Director: Professor Larry J Schaaf

Back to the letter search >

Result number 2 of 10:   < Back     Back to results list   Next >  

Document number: 109
Date: Wed 1816
Dating: known correspondence to Dalton from Castleford was in 1816
Recipient: TALBOT William Henry Fox
Author: DALTON James
Collection: British Library, London, Manuscripts - Fox Talbot Collection
Last updated: 30th April 2013


Your Moss, Dear Sir, is Dicranum varium; – very common in both Spring & Autumn. As to Smith’s D. rigidulum, as my stars have never thrown it in my way, & my faith in both him & Dickson is very shallow, I am more than half disposed to doubt the species altogether. The moss (unnamed) is Neckera centipendula – very common [sic] without fruit, & I believe, still more rare with it. I wait with great impatience for Hooker’s <1> work; – for, the nullius addictus jurare in verba magister, I think his Botanical genius very acute indeed, & his perseverance equally great. Your Botanical difficulties I shall always be happy to relieve, to the best of my declining powers; – for I am a sad truant to the study, & find a miraculous facility of forgetting the little I ever knew.

I thank you for yr offer of Phascum rectum. I have found it abundantly, formerly; – but whether it is to be found here or not, I am really perfectly ignorant: – probably it may be so, as being by no means uncommon. I shd think you wd find Gymnostomum Heimii upon the ditch-banks, in yr Limestone country. I once gathered it between this place and Durham, where it grew in great abundance, & may be known at first sight. [illustration] This may give you some idea of the plant, if you have it not in yr collection, & also point out the method I adopted, of wh I spoke in my last. The plant shd be attached to the black leaf, & the drawings opposite to it – Gymnost: obtusum is the same plant.

Our weather, I fear, is much upon a par with what you have experienced, & our corn in a most deplorable state. I anticipate great misery for the poor during the winter, – but trust to a kind Providence for support. Charity is certainly the reigning virtue of the day, & never was it more needed!

I cannot dispatch this without inclosing [sic] you a moss. I believe I was the first to ascertain it as British, but never saw it in fruit. Specimens of it I gave to Sir Joseph Banks <2> &c &c. As it may not appear in your Books I will tell you it is [soghnum fallić?].

Dear Sir, very truly yours
James Dalton.

W. H. F. Talbot Esqre


1. Sir William Jackson Hooker (1785–1865), Prof & botanist.

2. Sir Joseph Banks (1743–1820), botanist, president of the Royal Society.

Result number 2 of 10:   < Back     Back to results list   Next >