link to Talbot Project home page link to De Montfort University home page link to Glasgow University home page
Project Director: Professor Larry J Schaaf

Back to the letter search >

Result number 3 of 10:   < Back     Back to results list   Next >  

Document number: 708
Date: 29 Jul 1816
Recipient: TALBOT William Henry Fox
Author: DALTON James
Collection: British Library, London, Manuscripts - Fox Talbot Collection
Last updated: 26th May 2010

Croft Rectory nr North Allerton.
July 29. 1816.

Sir –

My highly valued friend Hooker, <1> in a letter recd from him this morning, mentions you as a strenuous muscologist – a branch of Botany to which I was once most enthusiastically attached. I have, in consequence of his letter, taken the liberty of offering every little assistance in my power, & assuring you that, shd yr favorite pursuit induce you to come so far North as Croft, I will do my best to entertain you under the roof of the Rectory, & will either accompany or direct you to a valley in the Cy of Durham which has been pointed out to me as a fine field for muscological researches. Brother Linnæans, Sir, shd not be ceremonious with each other, – & if not always so ready to communicate their treasures, as they ought to be so. I hope, therefore, you will make what use of me you think necessary. want of a stimulus here has greatly abated my Botanical ardor – but it is not extinct; – & the remainder, such as it is, is much at your service.

I am, Sir, your most obedient servant
James Dalton.

W. H. F. Talbot Esqre


1. The botanist Sir William Jackson Hooker (1785–1865), Turner's father in law - see Doc. No: 00134.

Result number 3 of 10:   < Back     Back to results list   Next >