link to Talbot Project home page link to De Montfort University home page link to Glasgow University home page
Project Director: Professor Larry J Schaaf

Back to the letter search >

Result number 4 of 8:   < Back     Back to results list   Next >  

Document number: 641
Date: 23 Mar 1815
Recipient: TALBOT William Henry Fox
Author: DILLWYN Lewis Weston
Collection: British Library, London, Manuscripts - Fox Talbot Collection
Last updated: 1st September 2003

My dear Sir

Such an unmerciful quantity of public Business has latterly fallen to my Lot that my whole time has been occupied, & I now avail myself of a little leisure which an attendance on the Grand Jury at Cardiff gives me to answer your Letter. I am much obliged by the trouble you have taken in copying out Winchs paper for me & if ever another Edition of the Guide should be published it would be very useful as it contains several truly rare Plants. – Your remark is just that we have enumerated some Species which are too common but it does not apply to all those you mention, for Antirrhinum cymbalaria, Anthemis nobilis, & the Variety of Symphytum officinale are unknown in many parts of the Kingdom. – Drosera longifolia is too common & so perhaps is Valeriana dentata but it had only just been discovered when our Work was published. I greatly doubt whether Antirrhinum cymbalaria ought to be considered a Native, tho’ it is very plentiful in the neighborhood of London, & about old Gardens in some other places – Your Grimmia lanceolata does not compleatly <sic> answer to my idea of that Species, but I know not what else it can be, & I rely too much on your accuracy even to turn my thoughts toward a Gymnostomum – Your Hypnum murale I have not minutely examined, & I wish you would compare it with one of Smiths varieties of H. ruscifolium which if my recollection is correct it much more resembles. – My attention is now so exclusively given to Conchology that I am quite ignorant of the changes which have been made in the Tribes you mention, & I am rather vexed to find myself becoming more & more a bad modern Botanist. – Tell Miss Jane <1> I am much obliged to her for the News she sent me, & that I hope she will write again whenever she can find any thing more pleasant to tell. – I shall probably be in town for a few days in about three weeks. I cannot make out your Patella & till I take that Genus in hand I shall refrain from giving any opinion about it.

I remain
Yours sincerely

L W Dillwyn

finished at Cowbridge

March 23. 1815

W. H. F. Talbot Esq
31 Sackville Street
March 23 – 1815 <2>


1. Jane Harriot Nicholl, née Talbot (1796–1874).

2. Written in another hand at the back of address panel.

Result number 4 of 8:   < Back     Back to results list   Next >