link to Talbot Project home page link to De Montfort University home page link to Glasgow University home page
Project Director: Professor Larry J Schaaf

Back to the letter search >

Result number 4 of 30:   < Back     Back to results list   Next >  

Document number: 1650
Date: 29 Jan 1828
Dating: [signed THB Estcourt, ie, before 1840]
Recipient: TALBOT William Henry Fox
Author: ESTCOURT Thomas Henry Sutton Sotheron Bucknall
Collection: British Library, London, Manuscripts - Fox Talbot Collection
Collection number historic: LA28-12
Last updated: 14th December 2010

Everleigh <1>
January 29 1828

My dear Talbot

Since I left Lacock, I have been continually absent from home, except one tedious week, which was passed at the Sessions. This had prevented me from writing as I had wished, to propose to you a day for your promised visit to New Park.

We return however the end of this week, and should be exceedingly rejoiced to see you the beginning of the next, if it will be convenient to you. The only temptation I can offer you, is a Devizes Ball, which takes place next Tuesday the 5th Instant of February. Will you then join us on that day, and give us the pleasure of your Company as long as you are able. Colonel & Mrs Napier <2> whom I believe you are acquainted with, will, I hope be staying with us.

Make my best compliments to Lady Elizabeth, <3> and the rest of your agreable Circle, and believe me

my dear Talbot, yours very sincerely
T H B Estcourt

Tuesday, January twenty nine 1828 - J Dugdale Astley <4>
Fox Talbot Esqre
31. Sackville Street
Lacock Abbey


1. Wiltshire.

2. William F P Napier, and his wife Caroline Napier, née Fox (d. 1860).

3. Lady Elisabeth Theresa Feilding, née Fox Strangways, first m Talbot (1773-1846), WHFT's mother.

4. Sir John Dugdale Astley (1778-1842), MP.

Result number 4 of 30:   < Back     Back to results list   Next >