link to Talbot Project home page link to De Montfort University home page link to Glasgow University home page
Project Director: Professor Larry J Schaaf
 

Back to the letter search >

Result number 10 of 30:   < Back     Back to results list   Next >  

Document number: 2344
Date: 20 Apr 1832
Dating: [signed THB Estcourt, ie, before 1840]
Postmark: 20 Apr 1832
Recipient: TALBOT William Henry Fox
Author: ESTCOURT Thomas Henry Sutton Sotheron Bucknall
Collection: British Library, London, Manuscripts - Fox Talbot Collection
Collection number: envelope 20046
Collection number historic: LA32-16
Last updated: 29th October 2010

New Park
April 20th 1832

Dear Talbot/

I am very sorry that I did not know you would be in the Country, at this Time, otherwise, I should have begged you to meet the Mundys <1> here. They came Wednesday evening: and stay a week. Would you now join us tomorrow and pass a few days with us; and we would then engage to pay a visit to Lacock on Monday under your personal guidance.

Mrs Mundy will not write to you, as she hopes you will accede to this Proposal.

It was very stupid in me not to have thought of it before.

Mrs Estcourt <2> desires her Compts to Lady Elizabeth <3>, and

I am always
T H SS Estcourt

[envelope:]
H. Fox Talbot Esqre
Lacock Abbey
Chippenham


Notes:

1. William Mundy (1801-1877), politician, WHFT's brother-in-law, and his wife, Harriot Georgiana Mundy, ne Frampton (1806-1886), WHFTs cousin & sister-in-law.

2. Probably the wife of Thomas Henry Sutton Sotheron Bucknall Estcourt (18011876), MP.

3. A misspelling for Lady Elisabeth Theresa Feilding, ne Fox Strangways, first m Talbot (17731846), WHFTs mother.

Result number 10 of 30:   < Back     Back to results list   Next >