link to Talbot Project home page link to De Montfort University home page link to Glasgow University home page
Project Director: Professor Larry J Schaaf

Back to the letter search >

Result number 15 of 997:   < Back     Back to results list   Next >  

Document number: 497
Date: 04 Sep 1808
Recipient: FEILDING Elisabeth Theresa, née Fox Strangways
Author: TALBOT William Henry Fox
Collection: British Library, London, Manuscripts - Fox Talbot Collection
Collection number historic: LA8-8
Last updated: 19th February 2012

Rottingdean <1>
4th September 1808

My Dear Mama

send me some more Stinsford <2> Beer. I am in [illegible]. send me a cake in a little while (about ten days) send the beer directly. on Friday I received a letter from my Cousin Jane <3> dated the 28th of August. Bowden is not come yet. We have been here one month and 2 days. Charrington goes home every week from Saturday till Monday. I learn the Catechism every Sunday and read the history of the Jews. on Friday we do no ten o’clock lessons. Wednesday we do ten o’clock and 4 o’clock lessons together because of Mr Scott’s coming. Saturday is a Half Holiday. but then Mr Marchant (the Writing master) comes. as he does thursday. and Monday & tuesday we do nothing but Latin Grammar. I will give you a specimen of the way Mr Marchant makes his report.

turn Over

W Manning VVG G VG
F Manning VG VVG VG
Slade VVG VG G

& so on G means Good VG very Good VVG very very good – means absent Idle/A means Idle Arithmetic B is bad VB very Bad VVB very very Bad I have had 5 G’s 7 VG’s 1 VVG

I remain Your Affectionate Son

W H F Talbot

Lady E Feilding
Coombe Farm


1. Rottingdean, East Sussex, 4 mi SE of Brighton: WHFT attended school there from 1808–1811.

2. Stinsford, Dorsetshire, 2 mi E of Dorcester.

3. Jane Harriot Nicholl, née Talbot (1796–1874).

Result number 15 of 997:   < Back     Back to results list   Next >