link to Talbot Project home page link to De Montfort University home page link to Glasgow University home page
Project Director: Professor Larry J Schaaf

Back to the letter search >

Result number 2 of 16:   < Back     Back to results list   Next >  

Document number: 991
Date: 05 Jul 1822
Postmark: 5 Jul 1822
Recipient: TALBOT William Henry Fox
Author: LEMON Charles
Collection: British Library, London, Manuscripts - Fox Talbot Collection
Collection number historic: LA22-34
Last updated: 14th September 2010

Dear Henry,

We are impatient to hear of your coming – all our letters were full of it some time ago, but the subject seems to have drp dropped lately, & we do not know when to expect you – If, when you come you should be inclined for a trip into Holland, I shall rejoice but I have put off a scheme of that sort that I was on the point of executing a few days ago – Not knowing exactly how much conscience Charlotte <1> has shewn on the occasion I do not know whether I am very unreasonable in asking you to bring me a few books which are at Whitehall, & which my sister will send you if you write her a line before you set out – If they are at all in Lady E’s <2> or your way pray leave them; for I am in no hurry & shall have other opportunities shortly – I have [illegible deletion] on the other side written an order for some Bills of exchange which I shall be very much obliged to you to call for – This is not a bulky article, & it will be a great convenience to me if you will take charge of them –

Pray give my Love to Lady Charlotte <3> Send us a line to say when you come, & if we cannot accommodate you & her in our own House we will get rooms for you in the Hotel which is not far off –

Yours very faithfully
C. Lemon

Mr Lemon will be most obliged to Messrs Hammersley’s & Co <4> to give to Mr Henry Talbot, £405. 10. 0, in circulating Bills of exchange for £50 each – after deducting the expence of stamps –

July 2d
JMessrs Hammersleys & Co
Pall Mall

My dear Henry – Pray bring me the last Edition of Don’s Hortus Cantabrigiensis <5> – I am in the last distress for some such book

Yr affct

Henry Talbot Esqe
at C Feilding’s Esqe
31 Sackville Street


1. Charlotte Louisa 'Charry' Traherne, née Talbot (1800–1880), WHFT’s cousin.

2. Lady Elisabeth Theresa Feilding, née Fox Strangways, first m Talbot (1773–1846), WHFT’s mother.

3. Lady Charlotte Anne Lemon, née Strangways (d. 1826), WHFT’s aunt.

4. Hammersley & Company, bankers, London.

5. James Donn, improved and augmented with references to figures of plants by Frederick Pursh, Hortus cantabrigiensis, or, An accented catalogue of plants, indigenous and exotic, cultivated in the Cambridge Botanic Garden, 9th ed (London: Printed for F.C. and J. Rivington, 1819).

Result number 2 of 16:   < Back     Back to results list   Next >