link to Talbot Project home page link to De Montfort University home page link to Glasgow University home page
Project Director: Professor Larry J Schaaf

Back to the letter search >

Result number 5 of 7:   < Back     Back to results list   Next >  

Document number: 7165
Date: 01 Aug 1855
Recipient: TALBOT William Henry Fox
Author: LLEWELYN John Dillwyn
Collection: British Library, London, Manuscripts - Fox Talbot Collection
Collection number historic: LA55-15
Last updated: 21st February 2012

My dear Mr Talbot

I can hardly express to you how much value I shall place upon the magnificent work which you are kind enough to give me, a value greatly enhanced to me as coming from the chief and father of English photography –

In every sense of the word it will be duly appreciated in my Library –

It has been a matter of regret to me oftentimes that I have never yet been able to send you, what you once said you would like to have, some views of Penrice <1> scenery, but it is a strange thing, that altho’ I have made photographs in most parts of England, yet I have never worked my Camera in the Western parts of Gower, <2> which indeed offer so many fine subjects and which have the additional recommendation to me, that I know that copies of them would be acceptable to yourself.

I trust however that I shall now shortly have an opportunity of obtaining what I so much desire – Miss Talbot <3> who has been staying here for some time goes down to Penrice today, to commence her permanent residence there, and this will give us constant inducements to visit the place –

I shall not go without my Camera and I look forward with much pleasure to sending to you memorials of the garden and coast scenery –

I shall forward to you impressions of the scenes as I make them –

Emma <4> joins me in the hearty wish that we could by any means prevail upon you and your party to visit us here; we are not perhaps exactly in the way to Scotland, but no place is far out of the way in these railroad days.

We might then visit Penrice together, and make photographs of your favorite scenes in Company. – I should also have the opportunity of showing you the curious plants which I cultivate here and of which I am as fond as yourself.

I have not had any dealings with him lately, but some years ago I procured some very interesting hardy herbaceous plants from Dickson of Chester. – I remember to have procured from him some of the rarer species of Pyrola – Swertia perennis of others not generally in the trade –

The pretty little grass of which you gave me seed last autumn is now in flower here, and very ornamental in my eyes –

and I am Yours very truly
J. D. Llewelyn

Aug. 1 1855


1. Penrice Castle and Penrice House, Gower, Glamorgan, 10 mi SW of Swansea: home of Christopher Rice Mansel Talbot.

2. Gower peninsula, Wales.

3. Probably Mary Thereza Talbot (1795–1861), WHFT’s cousin.

4. Emma Thomasina Llewelyn, née Talbot (1806–1881), photographer; WHFT’s Welsh cousin.

Result number 5 of 7:   < Back     Back to results list   Next >