link to Talbot Project home page link to De Montfort University home page link to Glasgow University home page
Project Director: Professor Larry J Schaaf

Back to the letter search >

Result number 6 of 7:   < Back     Back to results list   Next >  

Document number: 7169
Date: 15 Aug 1855
Recipient: TALBOT William Henry Fox
Author: LLEWELYN John Dillwyn
Collection: British Library, London, Manuscripts - Fox Talbot Collection
Collection number historic: LA55-017
Last updated: 1st September 2003

My dear Mr Talbot

I fear that you will think me ungracious for having so long delayed to acknowledge the receipt of the splendid work which you were kind enough to send me –

It reached Penllergare <1> in perfect safety a day or two before I left for this place, and I did not write at once because I thought that you had left home on your Scottish tour –

Permit me now to offer you my very best thanks for what I shall always value in a peculiar degree.

I have my Camera with me here, and have been working it with some partial success – but the weather unfortunately will not always smile on the photographer, and favorite effects of light & shade will not always appear at his bidding –

To make clearly satisfactory views is a matter of patience and watching and study –

I have however a few negatives which I think you may like as remembrances of this locality, and which I shall print on my return, in a day or two, to Penllergare

Shall I send these at once to Laycock or keep them for you until your return.

Yours very truly

J D Llewelyn

Penrice Castle

Aug. 15. 1855.

I have found on the Crawley Rock a pendulous variety of the Common Juniper with glaucous foliage – very pretty – which I shall attempt to propogate <sic> – would you like plants of it struck for your garden



1. Penllergaer, Glamorgan, 5 mi E of Loughor: home of the Llewelyn family.

Result number 6 of 7:   < Back     Back to results list   Next >