link to Talbot Project home page link to De Montfort University home page link to Glasgow University home page
Project Director: Professor Larry J Schaaf

Back to the letter search >

Result number 4 of 13:   < Back     Back to results list   Next >  

Document number: 1547
Date: 22 Mar 1827
Recipient: TALBOT William Henry Fox
Author: MONTGOMERIE George Stephen Molyneux
Collection: British Library, London, Manuscripts - Fox Talbot Collection
Last updated: 14th December 2010

My dear Talbot

I congratulate you on your safe return from your late Continental expedition & should be very glad if you would accompany Mr F.<1> when he comes down to see me, I fear however that Ly E. & your sisters<2> will keep you a prisoner as long as they can & load me with reproaches for making so barbarous a proposal Whenever you feel inclined for a change of air I recommend you this spot you might exercise your taste for Botany on the Wild Heaths of Norfolk & at the same time improve your health Nothing at all events can give me greater pleasure than seeing you here whenever it suits your convenience Remember me kindly to all your party & believe me

Ever yrs sincerely
G. Montgomerie


A few days ago it blew hard from the South with torrents of rain but very mild, in an instant as by magic it blew a gale from the North converting the same rain to snow, the whole terminated by a bright sunshine & clear frost The changes were worthy of a scene produced by the Touch of Harlequins wand in a Pantomime The comparison is I hope not profane


March 22d 1827

Henry Fox Talbot Esqr


1. Rear Admiral Charles Feilding (17801837), Royal Navy; WHFTs step-father.

2. Lady Elisabeth Theresa Feilding, ne Fox Strangways, first m Talbot (17731846), WHFTs mother, Caroline Augusta Edgcumbe, ne Feilding, Lady Mt Edgcumbe (18081881); WHFTs half-sister, and Henrietta Horatia Maria Gaisford, ne Feilding (18101851), WHFTs half-sister.

Result number 4 of 13:   < Back     Back to results list   Next >