link to Talbot Project home page link to De Montfort University home page link to Glasgow University home page
Project Director: Professor Larry J Schaaf

Back to the letter search >

Result number 11 of 68:   < Back     Back to results list   Next >  

Document number: 472
Date: 18 Dec
Recipient: TALBOT William Henry Fox
Author: NICHOLL Jane Harriot, née Talbot
Collection: British Library, London, Manuscripts - Fox Talbot Collection
Last updated: 15th January 2011

13 Cadogan Place
Sloane Street
Dec. 18th

My dear Henry,

When I saw Charles <1> a few days ago he told me that you would be perhaps coming up to Town soon This is to let you know that you will find us still here & that if you will spare me a visit I shall be very much pleased to see you.

My sister Charlotte <2> will be in London on Tuesday for a few days, which will be fortunate if you come too. I went with Lady Ilchester <3> to Osborn’s Nursery Garden last Week to look after some of William’s <4> Treasures which he has to take care of, there was not much to see but a very pretty bulb something like an Ixia a deep red spike of Flowers about a Foot high with a very hard & odd name, it is new. Do you know it by my description?

Believe me yours truly
Jane H. Nicholl


1. Charles Henry Talbot (1842–1916), antiquary & WHFT’s only son.

2. Charlotte Louisa 'Charry' Traherne, née Talbot (1800–1880), WHFT’s cousin.

3. Lady Sophia Penelope Jolliffe, née Sheffield (1822-1882); first m. WTHF Strangways, second m. 1stBaron Hylton.

4. William Thomas Horner Fox Strangways, 4th Earl of Ilchester (1795– 10 Jan 1865), botanist, art collector & diplomat.

Result number 11 of 68:   < Back     Back to results list   Next >