link to Talbot Project home page link to De Montfort University home page link to Glasgow University home page
Project Director: Professor Larry J Schaaf

Back to the letter search >

Result number 12 of 68:   < Back     Back to results list   Next >  

Document number: 128
Date: 10 Jun 1808
Recipient: TALBOT William Henry Fox
Author: NICHOLL Jane Harriot, née Talbot
Collection: Wiltshire and Swindon History Centre, Chippenham
Collection number: Lacock Abbey Deposit WRO 2664
Last updated: 10th March 2012

[written on the same sheet as a note from Kit Talbot - see Doc. No: 00495]

June 10th 1808

My dear Henry

I received your letter today. I think the plantain was very strong indeed that killed 1000 of them. I think you gathered a great many Plantains Papa <1> gave me a hen she laid some eegs but they were bad and mamma <2> let me have seven eegs to put under her and tomorrow the chickens will come out. My Canary Bird is very well. Did you like the explanation of the word Cheltenham? I am your affectionate Cousin [illegible]

Jane Harriet Talbot


I saw a great many crabs and rock fish and a great many muscles and Periwincles on the rocks. My seeds are coming up in my garden. Christopher <3> is going to sup out of Doors to night you wrote me a very short letter indeed. Do you like your School fellows very much? It seems a very long time since I saw you. I have got a sore throat and two blisters one on my Chest and one on my side. Elinor <4> is better Mrs Digby sent her a very beautiful Bible and Prayer Book. I have been reading a book of Natural History Mamma has got the two vol of the Spectator in little I like it very much, and Thomsons works in little. Mamma has been settleing the Library. Dickey sings very delightffull. All the place about penrice looks beautiful Mary and I ride out every day I hope you like Rottendean.

Believe me my dear Henry your very affectionate
Cousin Jane Harriett Talbot

June 10 1808

We <5> all send our love to you I hope the hollidays you will come and see us.

William Henry Fox Talbot

[on verso:]

Penrice June 10 1808


1. Thomas Mansel Talbot (1747–1813).

2. Lady Mary Lucy Cole, née Strangways, first m. Talbot (1776–1855), WHFT’s aunt.

3. Christopher Rice Mansel Talbot (1803–1890), immensely wealthy landowner, mathematician & politician; WHFT’s Welsh cousin.

4. Ellinore Sybilla ‘Ronille’ Talbot (1801–1810), WHFT’s cousin.

5. Text obscured under seal.

Result number 12 of 68:   < Back     Back to results list   Next >