link to Talbot Project home page link to De Montfort University home page link to Glasgow University home page
Project Director: Professor Larry J Schaaf

Back to the letter search >

Result number 40 of 68:   < Back     Back to results list   Next >  

Document number: 1130
Date: 30 Nov 1823
Dating: 1823?
Recipient: TALBOT William Henry Fox
Author: NICHOLL Jane Harriot, née Talbot
Collection: British Library, London, Manuscripts - Fox Talbot Collection
Collection number: 27821
Last updated: 1st September 2003

Penrice <1>

Novr 30th

My dear Henry

If the plants you have got for me are half as great beauties as what you sent I shall indeed add greatly to the beauty as well as size of my collection – those from the <Col fr Tenth?> are lovely! I already long to go abroad again & I wonder at William’s <2> not wishing to return to Naples for I am quite sure we have not got half the plants which grow in that neighborhood. The Hague would be as uninteresting as any place could well be I shd think what is his reason (if he has any) for changing his plans? Your letters to my <sic> I am happy to say all reached their destination but I have had very good excuses for not having answered them so I hope you will take my thanks for all of them now. I never heard whether you received my letter from Padua or whether Aunt Lily had a letter I wrote to her on the journey home. How do they like Genoa?

We are delighted to hear your intention of comming <sic> here so soon as we should have <illegible> <3> the 26th I believe Do you know we have got a House? No 8 Montague Square where I hope we shall often see you. You said you did not know what my darlings name was it is John Cole <4> – nothing very extraordinary – you see. –

The weather has been very unpleasant all this month but we have not had any at all cold since the very beginning of it or rather the end of Octr – The seeds & plants I brought home are doing very well for the most part.

yours affy

Jane H Nicholl

The orchid’s are very well all comming <sic> up – Allium <Chamoemolly?> is going to flower.

Charry better Mama <5> greatly well

W. H. F. Talbot Eqre


1. Penrice Castle and Penrice House, Gower, Glamorgan, 10 mi SW of Swansea: home of Christopher Rice Mansel Talbot.

2. William Thomas Horner Fox Strangways, 4th Earl of Ilchester (1795–1865), botanist, art collector & diplomat.

3. Text torn away under seal.

4. John Cole Nicholl, was born 30th August 1823.

5. Charlotte Louisa 'Charry' Traherne, née Talbot (1800–1880), WHFT’s cousin, and Lady Mary Lucy Cole, née Strangways, first m. Talbot (1776–1855), WHFT’s aunt.

Result number 40 of 68:   < Back     Back to results list   Next >