link to Talbot Project home page link to De Montfort University home page link to Glasgow University home page
Project Director: Professor Larry J Schaaf
 

Back to the letter search >

Result number 5 of 68:   < Back     Back to results list   Next >  

Document number: 4738
Date: 07 Jan
Dating: 1823?
Watermark: 1809
Recipient: TALBOT William Henry Fox
Author: NICHOLL Jane Harriot, née Talbot
Collection: British Library, London, Manuscripts - Fox Talbot Collection
Last updated: 7th November 2011

Jany 7th

My dear Henry

Your short letter has just arrived & also two of the three which you say you forwarded but not until we sent a second time did they make their appearance, I am convinced we do not receive all our letters & I am particularly anxious at present about Isabella & Emma <1> who have the Whooping Cough which makes it doubly provoking. You had better not forward any more after next week for we shall certainly be at Rome on the 21st or 22d I am quite sorry you shd have had so much trouble about the Lodgings. Mr Nicholl <2> has desired the 14 Louis to be paid to you at Torlonis I am almost ashamed to ask you to look for rooms for us but I hope you will take compassion on us & the day before we arrive see that we have some place to lay our heads in You do not say when you go to Naples. I beg you will let us know for it is of consequence to our plans. Hoping you found the Ancient Gabii <3> remains

your aff Cousin
Jane H Nicholl

Tell Aunt Lily <4> I was desired by Aunt Char. <5> to let her know I had a good acct of Mr L., <6> however I dare say she has had later accounts for my letter had been to Rome

They appear to have had cold weather at Penrice in the beginning of Decr so I dare say this is a severer winter every where than the last, but I hope it is nearly over in Italy.

A Monsieur
Monsieur W. H. Talbot

Palazzo Ceva
Via Magnanapoli
Roma


Notes:

1. Isabella Catherine Franklen, ne Talbot (18041874), and Emma Thomasina Llewelyn, ne Talbot (18061881), photographer; WHFTs Welsh cousin.

2. Dr John Nicholl (17971853), MP.

3. The ancient city of Latium, east of Rome.

4. Lady Elisabeth Theresa Feilding, ne Fox Strangways, first m Talbot (17731846), WHFTs mother.

5. Charlotte Louisa 'Charry' Traherne, ne Talbot (18001880), WHFTs cousin.

6. Sir Charles Lemon (17841868), politician & scientist; WHFTs uncle.

Result number 5 of 68:   < Back     Back to results list   Next >