link to Talbot Project home page link to De Montfort University home page link to Glasgow University home page
Project Director: Professor Larry J Schaaf
 

Back to the letter search >

Result number 41 of 68:   < Back     Back to results list   Next >  

Document number: 152
Date: 13 Jun 1824
Dating: Emma's portion date 11th - Jane's portion dated 13th
Recipient: TALBOT William Henry Fox
Author: NICHOLL Jane Harriot, née Talbot
Collection: British Library, London, Manuscripts - Fox Talbot Collection
Collection number historic: LA24-38
Last updated: 20th February 2012

[written on the same sheet as a note from his other cousin, Emma Llewelyn - see Doc. No: 00148]

Montague Sqre
June 13th

My dear Henry,

You will see by Emmas <1> Drawing that My Orchis [illegible] is in blossom. I am very anxious to show it to the Horticultural Society & therefore have desired it to be sent to me if Mama <2> can spare it. Uncle Harry <3> took an Anthyllis of Williams <4> to the Society & to [illegible] one said it was the Italica & the other the Montana (I could find no Italica in the F. Romana) both said it had never been introduced into this Country before it is very pretty & showy, blowing abt a month ago. I went to the Horticultural Garden with [illegible] & Uncle H. & was very much delighted with the Shore plants & particularly the Orchis tribe which were always great favorites of mine we were unfortunate in not having a more intelligent person to go around with us I longed for you You will see by Emma that Kerry <5> has been ill but has had a relapse & I am sorry to say they still think him in some danger for caught [sic] cold after the Measles he was sent to Bowood <6> for change of air, but did not take care of getting wet Dr Fowler <7> slept there the night before last & [illegible deletion] was to return the next day I have just heard a better account of Kerry so I hope we may have a better account to send you when I write next which I fully intend to do in a few days thank Aunt Lily <8> for her Letter from Venice, I was very glad to hear you like [it] <9> tho I thought it a most melancholy

Yours affy
Jane H Nicholl

Monsieur
Monsieur Talbot
Poste Restante
Baden Baden
Radstadt
Germany
Munich <10>

London
June 15th 1824


Notes:

1. Emma Thomasina Llewelyn, ne Talbot (18061881), photographer; WHFTs Welsh cousin.

2. Lady Mary Lucy Cole, ne Strangways, first m. Talbot (17761855), WHFTs aunt.

3. Henry Stephen Fox Strangways, 3rd Earl of Ilchester (17871858).

4. William Thomas Horner Fox Strangways, 4th Earl of Ilchester (17951865), botanist, art collector & diplomat.

5. William Thomas Fitzmaurice, Earl of Kerry (18111836), MP.

6. Bowood House, nr Calne, Wiltshire, 5 mi NE of Lacock: seat of the Marquess of Lansdowne.

7. Richard Fowler (17651863), physician.

8. Lady Elisabeth Theresa Feilding, ne Fox Strangways, first m Talbot (17731846), WHFTs mother.

9. Text obscured under seal.

10. Readdressed in another hand.

Result number 41 of 68:   < Back     Back to results list   Next >