link to Talbot Project home page link to De Montfort University home page link to Glasgow University home page
Project Director: Professor Larry J Schaaf

Back to the letter search >

Result number 46 of 68:   < Back     Back to results list   Next >  

Document number: 1342
Date: Sun 1826
Dating: 1826?
Recipient: TALBOT William Henry Fox
Author: NICHOLL Jane Harriot, née Talbot
Collection: British Library, London, Manuscripts - Fox Talbot Collection
Last updated: 1st September 2003

Merthyrmawr <1>


My dear Henry

Pray come & make us a visit here Sir J. Nicholl <2> desires me to beg you will come & to say how happy they all will be to see you The party from Penrice <3> will be at Margam <4> next week & then you can go on to see them there as I know you have not seen Margam for years & I assure you the Garden is in high beauty at present. The Steam Packet will bring you across to Newport, but you would do better to come all the way by the Mail as that leaves Bristol at 9 in the morning & passes the Lodge here at ½ past 6 in the afternoon we dine at 7 so you will come in good time –

I hope you will come as I shall enjoy shewing you all about this place – Charry <5> is here with me –

Your affe

Jane H. Nicholl

I had yr Letter last night I am glad to find C. & H. <6> have a better opinion of England.

Henry Talbot Esqe


1. Merthyr Mawr, Glamorgan, on River Ogwr.

2. Possibly the father-in-law of Jane Harriet Nicholl.

3. Jane Harriot Nicholl, née Talbot (1796–1874).

4. Margam Park, Glamorgan: home of Christopher Rice Mansel Talbot.

5. Charlotte Louisa 'Charry' Traherne, née Talbot (1800–1880), WHFT’s cousin.

6. Caroline Augusta Edgcumbe, née Feilding, Lady Mt Edgcumbe (1808–1881); WHFT’s half-sister, and Henrietta Horatia Maria Gaisford, née Feilding (1810–1851), WHFT’s half-sister.

Result number 46 of 68:   < Back     Back to results list   Next >