link to Talbot Project home page link to De Montfort University home page link to Glasgow University home page
Project Director: Professor Larry J Schaaf

Back to the letter search >

Result number 50 of 68:   < Back     Back to results list   Next >  

Document number: 3888
Date: 06 Jun 1839
Postscript: 7 Jun
Recipient: TALBOT William Henry Fox
Author: NICHOLL Jane Harriot, née Talbot
Collection: British Library, London, Manuscripts - Fox Talbot Collection
Last updated: 14th February 2012

Belgrave Square
June 6th

My dear Henry,

I do not know whether you know that my Mother <1> has never had the microscope for want of your telling me where it was to go to be packed. pray tell me who is to do it as I am sure I cannot do it properly.

I have been intending often to write to you upon the subject of Photogenic drawings which have been the source of very great amusement to Johnny <2> & me all the spring. He has had the Hooping cough and we found making the Paper & trying experiments &c very amusing & I think considering our materials & our great ignorance we did very well Any hints or advice you can give will be of the greatest service.

We are meditating a Tour on the Continent shortly – part of Switzerland & then Genoa (& Nice perhaps) but time will show how far we can go & what we shall be able to do in the time as it is a Tour of amusement & recreation to Mr Nicholl <3>

I feel very anxious that every part of it should be as amusing as possible – any advice or information you can give will be acceptable. The only part of the Tour at present settled is to go over the St. Gothard to the Lakes of Maggiore & Como Steu to Genoa along the Cornice & back by the Col de Tende over the Semptoa to Geneva we think this route will show us a great deal omitted in our last Tour & which we very much wish to see. I expect great treasures in the vegitable [sic] way & exquisite alpine scenery both very much to be desired. Give my best love to Mrs Talbot & to your darlings <4> with a double portion to my Godchild.

Your affte Cousin
Jane H. Nicholl

Lady Chartt. <5> has a boy & is quite well

June 7th 1839


1. Lady Mary Lucy Cole, née Strangways, first m. Talbot (1776–1855), WHFT’s aunt.

2. John Cole Nicholl (b. 1823), eldest son of Jane Harriet Nicholl.

3. Dr John Nicholl (1797–1853), MP.

4. Constance Talbot, née Mundy (1811–1880), WHFT’s wife; Ela Theresa Talbot (1835–1893), WHFT’s 1st daughter; Rosamond Constance ‘Monie’ Talbot (1837–1906), artist & WHFT’s 2nd daughter; Matilda Caroline Gilchrist-Clark, ‘Tilly’, née Talbot (1839–1927), WHFT’s 3rd daughter.

5. Probably Lady Charlotte Talbot, née Butler (1809–1846), wife of CRM Talbot.

Result number 50 of 68:   < Back     Back to results list   Next >