link to Talbot Project home page link to De Montfort University home page link to Glasgow University home page
Project Director: Professor Larry J Schaaf
 

Back to the letter search >

Result number 53 of 68:   < Back     Back to results list   Next >  

Document number: 8082
Date: 20 Apr 1860
Recipient: TALBOT William Henry Fox
Author: NICHOLL Jane Harriot, née Talbot
Collection: British Library, London, Manuscripts - Fox Talbot Collection
Collection number: envelope 22346
Last updated: 17th February 2012

[on light mourning paper]

Engadina Torquay
April 20. 1860

My dear Henry

I am really ashamed of having been so long before I send my thanks for your Photographic Engravings they are very pretty & extremely curious. I believe the invention will lead to much more eventually but at present I must say I prefer photographs themselves which are I think the greatest boone [sic] to artists & the greatest discovery made since the invention of printing.

I am going to Town on Tuesday for the necessary but very disagreeable business of Marriage Settlements &cc I hope I may find some solace in the presence of some of my friends & acquaintances London is odious when one has not got a home there, with it I prefer it to all other places. You ask after my dear Rice who is in India he is or will soon be a Captain! He has seen a good deal of Service since he went into the Army which he did straight from Eton. The Crimea first & then to India where he has had incessant work moving about with his Regiment. He is well & very happy. Johnny & his intended mean to make a Tour on the Continent what do you advise?

Your aff.
Jane H. Nicholl

[envelope:]
W. H. Fox Talbot Esr.
Lacock Abbey
Chippenham

Result number 53 of 68:   < Back     Back to results list   Next >