link to Talbot Project home page link to De Montfort University home page link to Glasgow University home page
Project Director: Professor Larry J Schaaf

Back to the letter search >

Result number 54 of 68:   < Back     Back to results list   Next >  

Document number: 8101
Date: Sun 20 May 1860
Recipient: TALBOT William Henry Fox
Author: NICHOLL Jane Harriot, née Talbot
Collection: British Library, London, Manuscripts - Fox Talbot Collection
Collection number historic: LA60-21
Last updated: 19th November 2012

Merthyrmawr Sunday May 20 1860

My dear Henry,

I am very glad to hear that you are going to the Pyrenees. You do not tell me where you intend making a sojourn or if you are going alone or with your family. I admire so many parts that I am glad you who love fine scenery should be going there. The Eaux Bonnes & its neighborhood is most delightful but there are other beauties as great & I like Luz & St Sauveur still more, Bagnères de Bigorre we found delightful – altho’ not picturesque in itself but the Environs are so interesting in a Botanical point of view & the Panorama of Mountain Scenery on the Toulouse road is unrivaled [sic] if you go to Bagnères de Luckon [sic] you will may go that way. I believe William & Sophy are going to St Sauveur this summer & I only wish we were also. I should enjoy it so much in company of both you & him.

I enclose the address of one of the best Travelling Servants I ever knew – he was with us from 1845 to /50. & again in 54 & 55 – you will find him everything you would wish – altho’ not so young as he was he is very active. Pray take him.

Do you want your Flora Gallica I will send it if you wish to take it with you.

Your aff
Jane H. Nicholl

W. H. Fox Talbot Esqr.
Lacock Abbey

Result number 54 of 68:   < Back     Back to results list   Next >