link to Talbot Project home page link to De Montfort University home page link to Glasgow University home page
Project Director: Professor Larry J Schaaf

Back to the letter search >

Result number 56 of 68:   < Back     Back to results list   Next >  

Document number: 8362
Date: 09 Apr 1861
Recipient: TALBOT William Henry Fox
Author: NICHOLL Jane Harriot, née Talbot
Collection: British Library, London, Manuscripts - Fox Talbot Collection
Collection number historic: LA61-64
Last updated: 10th March 2012

[on mourning paper]

April 9. 1861

My dear Henry

I was very glad to hear something of you from Clark on his return from Wiltshire, but I wish you had written to me instead, as the sight of your handwriting puts me in mind of so many happy days that even that, in your absence, is a real pleasure. I heard that you had enquired for Volmer’s address – I am sorry to say that he is now, poor Man, in a Maison de Sante [sic] at Paris having been very ill indeed at Nice where he was with Lady Mary Wood I fear he will be long before he is equal to the fatigue of travelling as he is too anxious & too active for his age. If you want a very excellent Man as a travelling Servant I can recommend Scheichelbauer<1> who is an old friend having travelled in 1842 & 44 with us & for some years with Harriot & Mr Mundy – he was with John & Minnie in their very lengt[h]y Tour last year & has been staying here with us, on a visit since Christmas so if you think of him pray write at once to him here. I can recommend him very highly as a most careful & honest Man & one who has had great experience in his vocation.

We are all kept in daily expectation of the arrival of my Grand child! – the only tiresome thing being its keeping me from paying a visit to Melbury – I hear Willm is better. How are all yours?

Your affte Cousin
Jane H. Nicholl


1. The passage of a couple of decades had gently distorted her memory of the spelling of Mr. Scheichelbaur, a courier and travelling servant to various branches of the Talbot family in 1844 until at least 1863.

Result number 56 of 68:   < Back     Back to results list   Next >