link to Talbot Project home page link to De Montfort University home page link to Glasgow University home page
Project Director: Professor Larry J Schaaf

Back to the letter search >

Result number 59 of 68:   < Back     Back to results list   Next >  

Document number: 8598
Date: 07 Sep 1862
Postmark: Bridgend 7 Sep 1862
Recipient: TALBOT William Henry Fox
Author: NICHOLL Jane Harriot, née Talbot
Collection: British Library, London, Manuscripts - Fox Talbot Collection
Collection number: envelope 22184
Collection number historic: LA62-55
Last updated: 17th February 2012

[on mourning paper with engraved address:]
Merthyr Mawr,

September 7

My dear Henry,

I heard of your being in London but not when I was there. You are never to be seen. I went in June & saw the Exhibition in part – a very small part – I never saw your Photo-Printing for I cannot have resolution to pass so many things that interest me, & therefore I get knocked up before I arrive at what I intended to see! I hope however to go soon to see many things left unseen – but I am waiting for another Granchild [sic] to arrive before I leave home. –

Will you tell me what are the best Books for Italian Botany – I think it probable we may go to the shores of the Mediterranean this winter & I find Woods Tourists Flora not enough – I do not care about a Book being in many Vols – but what I want is one to be relied on & that will help me beyond what I know. The old days of our being in Italy together is the brightest spot in my life, & the Botany of that time is fixed in “letters of gold” on my mind I love every plant of that lovely Country.

Useful Books of Science of all kinds I should like to know of – How are you all – Your Grandchild must be nearly a year old how much I shd like to see him. My Grandson is a pattern & so wonderfully wise!

Your affte
Jane H. Nicholl

[engraved on rear flap:] Merthyr Mawr. Bridend.
W. H. Fox Talbot Esqr
Millburn Tower
N. B.

Result number 59 of 68:   < Back     Back to results list   Next >