link to Talbot Project home page link to De Montfort University home page link to Glasgow University home page
Project Director: Professor Larry J Schaaf

Back to the letter search >

Result number 8 of 68:   < Back     Back to results list   Next >  

Document number: 414
Date: 12 Oct
Recipient: TALBOT William Henry Fox
Author: NICHOLL Jane Harriot, née Talbot
Collection: British Library, London, Manuscripts - Fox Talbot Collection
Last updated: 19th January 2012

Merthyrmawr <1>
October 12th

My dear Henry,

I wish there was some possible combination of events which would bring us together – but the fates are against it I fear. Nothing would give me such pleasure as to see you here excepting my seeing you at Lacock but alas we are again wanderers & unless anything should induce you to go to Nice I fear another year will pass without our meeting. Your children <2> will be perfect strangers to mine & I shall know nothing of my godchild. <3> Dear little Horace <4> is a very remarkable child, you will hardly see enough of him to know what he is – in many things his mind resembles yours & I have often thought of you in days long past when I am listening to him

Your affte cousin
Jane H. Nicholl


1. Merthyr Mawr, Glamorgan, on River Ogwr.

2. Ela Theresa Talbot (1835–1893), WHFT’s 1st daughter; Rosamond Constance ‘Monie’ Talbot (1837–1906), artist & WHFT’s 2nd daughter; Matilda Caroline Gilchrist-Clark, ‘Tilly’, née Talbot (1839–1927), WHFT’s 3rd daughter; Charles Henry Talbot (1842–1916), antiquary & WHFT’s only son.

3. Rosamond Talbot.

4. Probably Lt Horace Charles Gaisford (1851–1879), WHFT’s nephew.

Result number 8 of 68:   < Back     Back to results list   Next >