link to Talbot Project home page link to De Montfort University home page link to Glasgow University home page
Project Director: Professor Larry J Schaaf

Back to the letter search >

Result number 162 of 971:   < Back     Back to results list   Next >  

Document number: 3924
Date: 26 Aug 1839
Recipient: TALBOT William Henry Fox
Author: TALBOT Constance, née Mundy
Collection: British Library, London, Manuscripts - Fox Talbot Collection
Collection number historic: LA39-59
Last updated: 16th November 2016

Lacock Abbey
August 26th

My dear Henry

I have suppressed or rather detained 2 letters which appear to be on Parochial & County business & which I think may conveniently wait your return - The one I now send seems to deserve more attention. - pray tell me what you wish me to do with other letters that may come in future. - I franked ones I have already forwarded & also the Literary Gazette <1> which I thought you might wish to see as soon as possible on account of M. Daguerre's disclosure.- <2> I am impatient to know what you think of it. I received your letter from London & one from my Sisters <3> the same day - I was delighted with you for going so kindly, to see them & to returning with the Drawings too! - Let me hear from you when you have time, & tell me whether the people have received you well. - Mlle Amélina <4> says the Royal Hotel is the best - which information will arrive too late to be of any service but I suppose you must have secured comfortable accommodation as you were in the Town so many days previous to the Meeting - Mr T. Montgomerie <5> is just arrived - but I have not seen him yet. We have been very busy arranging & tidying the house - We are well including the children -<6> Caroline <7> is expecting you decidedly at Buxton.

Mlle Amélina is looking extremely well - she was much disappointed about finding you [sic] at home. I know what a bustle you must of course be in at this moment - & I have therefore kindly sent you a short letter.

Yr affte


1. The Literary Gazette and Journal of belles lettres, science and art.

2. Louis Jacques Mandé Daguerre (1787-1851), French artist, showman & inventor.

3. Emily Mundy (1807– 5 November 1839); Laura Mundy (1805– 1 September 1842); Marian Gilder, née Mundy (1806 – 14 October 1860); m. 6 August 1844 William Troward Gilder (d. 1871), Army Surgeon (ret); WHFT’s sisters-in-law.

4. Amélina Petit De Billier, 'Mamie', 'Amandier' (1798-1876), governess and later close friend of the Talbot family [See Amélina's journal].

5. Thomas Molyneux Montgomerie (1788-1855), brother of Rev George Stephen Molyneux Montgomerie(1790-1850), close friend of Talbot family, artist, Rector of Garboldisham, near Thetford, Norfolk.

6. Ela Theresa Talbot (1835-1893), WHFT's 1st daughter, Rosamond Constance 'Monie' Talbot (1837-1906), artist & WHFT's 2nd daughter and Matilda Caroline Gilchrist-Clark, 'Tilly', née Talbot (1839-1927), WHFT's 3rd daughter.

7. Caroline Augusta Edgcumbe, née Feilding, Lady Mt Edgcumbe (1808-1881); WHFT's half-sister.

Result number 162 of 971:   < Back     Back to results list   Next >