link to Talbot Project home page link to De Montfort University home page link to Glasgow University home page
Project Director: Professor Larry J Schaaf

Back to the letter search >

Result number 10 of 90:   < Back     Back to results list   Next >  

Document number: 6916
Date: 08 Feb 1854
Recipient: TALBOT William Henry Fox
Author: TALBOT Ela Theresa
Collection: British Library, London, Manuscripts - Fox Talbot Collection
Collection number historic: Acc no 20762 (envelope only)
Last updated: 11th October 2014

Greta Bank
Febry 8th 1854

My dear Papa,

I received yesterday your letter from Lacock, and I see that the flowers there, are not so forward as in Cumberland, for at Mirehouse there is a yellow jasmine in flower against a wall, which looks very much like the one we have at Lacock, which I remember well I am sure it is the same sort. The other day I saw a giltcup in the zigzags, and we have heppaticas [sic] both pink and blue in full flower. The daphne you mention is one that Mamie[?] gave me two years ago and I am very glad to hear it is doing well.

Yesterday Mama had a letter from Gipsy herself, stating that she was much better, and that she hopes soon to return to us. To this communication Sir John Woodford added a few words, but did not sign his name, and the letter was dropt into the kitchen nobody knows how. We shall go and see her as soon as the weather permits, which I am afraid it will not today. – We are afraid that you must be very cold all alone at Lacock if the weather is anything like what we have here, such a succession of storms you never saw; last night was as tempestuous as any we have had, and Mamma and [Mamie?] were much disturbed. This morning the mountains are all white again and we have had some violent storms of sleet and rain. The only really fine days we have had since you went, were Charles’s birthday and the day following.

Yesterday I received a letter from Aunt Caroline, who says she is going to London next week for her fortnight’s waiting; and she hopes to meet you there –

She is going to Farrance’s Hotel.

I have not found much to say, for as Matilda wrote so lately she has told you the chief news. – We should be glad if you would inquire [sic] whether the pigeons are flourishing, they have not been mentioned in any letter. –

Good bye dear Papa,

Please in your next letter, to mention whether you are comfortable, and not very cold, and we hope you may have better weather for your journey back,

Your affecte and dutiful daughter

H F Talbot Esqre
Lacock Abbey

Result number 10 of 90:   < Back     Back to results list   Next >