link to Talbot Project home page link to De Montfort University home page link to Glasgow University home page
Project Director: Professor Larry J Schaaf

Back to the letter search >

Result number 122 of 159:   < Back     Back to results list   Next >  

Document number: 9756
Date: 11 Feb 1871
Recipient: TALBOT William Henry Fox
Author: GILCHRIST-CLARK Matilda Caroline, née Talbot
Collection: British Library, London, Manuscripts - Fox Talbot Collection
Last updated: 1st September 2003



Feb. 11th 1871

My dear Papa,

This is to wish you very many happy returns of your birthday – I wish we had all been within reach to wish you all sorts of good things personally: all the children were astonished & delighted when I told them it was Grand-papa’s birthday! – they all send love & kisses – I don’t know whether you will have seen John today or not – but the probabilities are I think that he would remain in Edinburgh till this afternoon at all events, & then he would certainly be with you – but when he last wrote to me, he was still doubtful about what he was going to do. –

The weather has suddenly turned very cold again, & one feels it more, after the two or three very warm days that we had –

All the colds here are pretty well, but not gone, & I do not think it likely they will go off quite for some time, with the constant variation in temperature –

Charles & I are going to dine at Capenoch tonight – I mean to wrap up warm for I think we shall have a very cold drive –

With much love to all, I am your most affecte daughter


Charles proposed to return to you on Tuesday –

Result number 122 of 159:   < Back     Back to results list   Next >