link to Talbot Project home page link to De Montfort University home page link to Glasgow University home page
Project Director: Professor Larry J Schaaf

Back to the letter search >

Result number 123 of 159:   < Back     Back to results list   Next >  

Document number: 9759
Date: 25 Feb 1871
Recipient: TALBOT William Henry Fox
Author: GILCHRIST-CLARK Matilda Caroline, née Talbot
Collection: British Library, London, Manuscripts - Fox Talbot Collection
Last updated: 1st September 2003



Feb. 25th 1871

My dear Papa,

Instead of answering your letter at once, I thought I would wait for the right day, to thank you for it, & also for the nice book which you sent me by John, the last time he was in Edinburgh. I have read some of it, & I think it will be of great assistance to us at present, as we were just going to build a new rockwork in the shade, where the children’s old gardens were – they have new ones now, in a more sunny situation, and the shade will suit some kinds of rock plants well – You know that we have had a rockery in the sunny part of the garden for the last two years, but it does not do for ferns – as it gets rather burnt up in Summer. You must look at it when you come here – I hope we shall make up out our journey to Edinburgh a little later, when it will be pleasanter than it is now. – for though we have had some beautiful days it is often very stormy – next Monday Mary Maxwell is to go home, as she now feels considerably better – and on Tuesday I am to go to Carruchan for a week, with Willie & Mimay – the latter has had a sort of bilious attack, & we think a little change will be good for her – & Willie always likes the idea of going to Carruchan – John will join us there, or else return here on Monday evenings – when he comes back from Edinburgh! whither he has gone again today, with the prospect of hearing three ministers tomorrow! I think he will mix up the three sermons in his mind, & get quite confused among them – Will you thank Mama for her letter, & Rosamond for her’s <sic> recd this morning – I must answer both soon – I was glad to hear that Mamie is better – Charles will not go, I suppose, till his arm has subsided – I think it was a good thing he was done –

With love fm all –

your most affecte daughter


Result number 123 of 159:   < Back     Back to results list   Next >