link to Talbot Project home page link to De Montfort University home page link to Glasgow University home page
Project Director: Professor Larry J Schaaf

Back to the letter search >

Result number 132 of 159:   < Back     Back to results list   Next >  

Document number: 9885
Date: Sun 26 May 1872
Recipient: TALBOT William Henry Fox
Author: GILCHRIST-CLARK Matilda Caroline, née Talbot
Collection: British Library, London, Manuscripts - Fox Talbot Collection
Collection number: Acc 22760 [envelope only]
Last updated: 20th April 2012

May 26th 72

My dear Papa,

I was delighted to get your note saying that you had arrived safe at Lacock again. The little book you intend for Willie arrived last night. I am sure he will quite appreciate it. & enjoy finding the names of the places he is reading about, on an atlas of his own! I will write his name in it as you wish – He is looking forward with great delight to his birthday – we are going to keep it here, & move to Dabton on Wednesday – the day after We are rather disappointed at being unable to get rooms at Fleming’s Hotel in Clarge’s Street – so I don’t know what we shall decide on doing I thought rooms might be difficult to get, as this is the Season in London. Yesterday & today have been lovely here – & quite warm & pleasant – the lilac is not yet open – only partially all through the country it is over – & the pink thorns we shall not see in blossom after all! they are going to be one mass of blossom this year –

With love yr most affec. daughter

H. F. Talbot Esqr.
Lacock Abbey

Result number 132 of 159:   < Back     Back to results list   Next >