link to Talbot Project home page link to De Montfort University home page link to Glasgow University home page
Project Director: Professor Larry J Schaaf

Back to the letter search >

Result number 134 of 159:   < Back     Back to results list   Next >  

Document number: 9917
Date: Mon 28 Oct 1872
Recipient: TALBOT William Henry Fox
Author: GILCHRIST-CLARK Matilda Caroline, née Talbot
Collection: British Library, London, Manuscripts - Fox Talbot Collection
Last updated: 1st October 2010

[Gilchrist-Clark crest]

Oct 28th/72

My dear Papa,

I am very glad that John’s visit to Mr Mushet has had the desired effect, & that you have recovered your damages – though the amount was so small – it was no use to let it remain unpaid. We have had very fine weather indeed here of late – and splendid autumnal tints: but now they are beginning to get too brown & dull, today there was an easterly fog which made it much colder, but I was able to take a drive in the open carriage to pay a visit, but did not find it agreeable. Tomorrow we expect our Speddoch tenants to come & lunch with us – I have not met the lady yet. You ask about the Capenoch party. It was very pretty and pleasant – nicely got up – only not quite enough people – It is just the sort of party that I always wanted to have here – only our house is not so suitable for that sort of thing – We were all very tired & sleepy & stupid next day. I heard the other day that Charlie Edgcumbe was in the neighbourhood, but I cannot find out if that is really the case. The Duchess told me she expected him at Drumlanrig but he is not there yet – as we were at the Chapel yesterday & did not see him – If I knew where he was I would have written & asked him to come here – We expect Noel & Emily Mundy soon, but she has not fixed a day for coming yet. The children send much love & kisses to Grandpapa.

your most affecte daughter

I hope Mama will soon move to Bath out of the damp

Result number 134 of 159:   < Back     Back to results list   Next >