link to Talbot Project home page link to De Montfort University home page link to Glasgow University home page
Project Director: Professor Larry J Schaaf

Back to the letter search >

Result number 135 of 159:   < Back     Back to results list   Next >  

Document number: 9920
Date: 12 Nov 1872
Recipient: TALBOT William Henry Fox
Author: GILCHRIST-CLARK Matilda Caroline, née Talbot
Collection: British Library, London, Manuscripts - Fox Talbot Collection
Collection number: Acc 22789 [envelope only]
Last updated: 20th April 2012

Novr 12th 1872

My dear Papa,

We have had a pleasant visit from Charlie Edgcumbe he came to us from Drumlanrig on Friday & left yesterday to visit at Closeburn, four miles from here – after which he is going to London – He was enquiring particularly about you all. We tried to get some friends to meet him, but just now every house about here is “engaged” as almost everyone has people staying with them. so we only managed to have 3 – Today I had a call from our tenants at Speddoch – It was the first time I had seen the lady, though they have had it two summers. I don’t think they have made up their minds whether they will come back there another season or not – We would rather have the same people than strangers again – but I think they were disappointed at the weather being so bad this year. The last three days have been most piercingly cold quite like the middle of winter, with a strong north-east wind – today though still cold, the wind has gone down & it is pleasanter – the air is bright & clear & plenty of sunshine – I have looked out several nights for November meteors but have seen none – Only one shooting star one night and a white Aurora on Sunday night – All the children are remarkably well, and have hitherto escaped colds which is a wonder – I suppose you will be going to Bath soon, will you not? I heard from there today – that Mama was beginning to feel more rested, after the change of house – I shall be anxious to hear how the new cook gets on – as I feel rather responsible for her. I think she can cook very well.

Yr most affecte daughter

H. F. Talbot Esqr.
Lacock Abbey

Result number 135 of 159:   < Back     Back to results list   Next >