link to Talbot Project home page link to De Montfort University home page link to Glasgow University home page
Project Director: Professor Larry J Schaaf
 

Back to the letter search >

Result number 139 of 159:   < Back     Back to results list   Next >  

Document number: 9967
Date: 05 Apr 1873
Recipient: TALBOT William Henry Fox
Author: GILCHRIST-CLARK Matilda Caroline, née Talbot
Collection: British Library, London, Manuscripts - Fox Talbot Collection
Collection number: Acc 22674 [envelope only]
Last updated: 19th April 2012

Dabton
Thornhill
April 5th 1873.

My dear Papa,

We have sent you in a tin box two blossom stalks of a beautiful stove plant which Mr Thomson the gardener at Drumlanrig brought over today Do you know it? it is the Eucharis Amazonica I hope it will arrive safe. I hope Jack has turned up at Bath all right. I hear he is to spend a day with you. I dare say you will think him much grown I believe he is getting on well at school at least he gets good reports and has passed his examinations fairly the only complaint is want of steadiness sometimes to his work but he has plenty of capacity & can work well when he sets his mind to it and he has a good memory which is a great advantage All the other children are quite well. The weather is colder today & very blowy last week was like Summer.

I am sending this note and the parcel by the late post so I suppose you will not get them till Monday morning

Your most affecte daughter
Tilly

[envelope:]
H. F. Talbot Esqr.
Lacock Abbey
Chippenham

Result number 139 of 159:   < Back     Back to results list   Next >