link to Talbot Project home page link to De Montfort University home page link to Glasgow University home page
Project Director: Professor Larry J Schaaf
 

Back to the letter search >

Result number 6 of 159:   < Back     Back to results list   Next >  

Document number: 6925
Date: 25 Feb 1854
Postmark: 25 Feb 1854 Keswick
Recipient: TALBOT William Henry Fox
Author: GILCHRIST-CLARK Matilda Caroline, née Talbot
Collection: British Library, London, Manuscripts - Fox Talbot Collection
Collection number historic: Acc no 20765 (envelope only)
Last updated: 27th January 2015

Greta Bank. Feb. 25th

My dear Papa;

I write to thank you for the very pretty book which I received this morning, and which we shall all like very much to read: we had already heard of the book, and had wished to have it; particulaly [sic] as it is by the same author as an amusing journey in Nepaul that you once gave me. The weather here has been very variable generally windy, though sometimes very bright and fine as today. We have not however had any more hurricanes in the night. We have not got many crocuses here, but there are some pretty tufts before the dining room windows. The hepaticas, both pink and blue, are most beautiful, we have a great many patches of them, and the snowdrops are remarkably large and fine. They grow prettily on the green slope, and among the rosebushes. We have not taken many walks lately out of the garden, but we went to the top of Castlehead the other day, and saw plenty of catkins on all the hazel bushes, and the rocks covered with Polypody with its orange seeds. There is some Coltsfoot in flower in the zigzag paths near the river.

Mamie sends you many thanks for your obliging thought in sending her spectacles, which she received yesterday in perfect safety. She would have written to you if she had not heard of your going to Lacock today. I had a letter from Ernestine on Tuesday, in which she says that Aunt Caroline has put off her waiting on account of Lord Mt Edgcumbe not being well. Mamma received the book you speak of from Miss Brewster, of which she is the author as you supposed; Mamma has written to her on the occasion.

I am sorry to say that poor little Gipsy is not at all better, she has grown so exceedingly weak, poor little thing! Sir John Woodford wrote two or three days ago to enquire after Gipsy, and to offer us two of his pretty little bantams, which he says he only has for the pleasure of seeing them run wild in his wood. So after some consideration they were accepted, but we have not got them yet. The gardener has just brought a fine pink Camelia into the drawingroom, where it stands in the window and is a great ornament.

Good bye, dear Papa, your affectionnate [sic] daughter
Matilda

[envelope:]
H. F. Talbot Esqr.
Lacock Abbey
Chippenham
Wilts-

Result number 6 of 159:   < Back     Back to results list   Next >