link to Talbot Project home page link to De Montfort University home page link to Glasgow University home page
Project Director: Professor Larry J Schaaf
 

Back to the letter search >

Result number 20 of 154:   < Back     Back to results list   Next >  

Document number: 989
Date: 30 Jun 1822
Postmark: 2 Jul 1822
Recipient: TALBOT William Henry Fox
Author: TALBOT Mary Thereza
Collection: British Library, London, Manuscripts - Fox Talbot Collection
Collection number historic: LA22-33
Last updated: 8th March 2012

Cheltenham
June 30th

My dear Henry

I had a letter from Jane <1> today in which she tells me they shall cross from Havre to Southampton, so I am afraid you will miss her after all which will be very provoking, she is to be at Southampton on the 17 or 18 but does not intend staying there. How I wish you were coming to Penrice <2>; I hope you will not let much time pass over our heads before we meet again & next time you come to England, mind you set down Penrice as the place best worth going to! We are to set out homewards on Tuesday but as we pay a visit by the way I suppose we shall not be there before Saturday. Charlotte <3> is not so well today but on the whole she is much better than when we left Town & the others are quite well & merry as grigs. Pray send me word if you thought Kit <4> much altered, of course I see him always the same as when he was quite little, only that he seems to grow taller every time he comes home to us! Your account of Capt Orme[?] amused us very much indeed, what a dreadful thunder storm <5> it must have been, we had none in London you know, the day before we set out from thence. I think the epigram you sent me on Dr Marsh <6> is not only severe but illnatured for whilst he was Bishop of Llandaff I heard nothing against him that I can recollect except that he was proud.

You never said a word in your letter, about the vetch I sent you, <7> was it the V. sylvatica? or what was it, pray send me word, if you can remember. I hav[e]<8> more if you forget what it like [sic]. Jane sends me word met with such a beautiful pea (crimson) in the forest of Mezire, <9> I quite long to see her dried flowers she tells me she has such beauties I hope she will not lose them, tho she has been careless enough to lose her work bag containing all sorts of things.

Give our love to Aunt Lily. <10> All send their love to you.

I am your affate coz
Mary

Your Primula flourishes very much, Scrub[? thought too much I suppose for he bit off the leaves in one or two places but has none [sic] no harm. We have got a most beautiful dwarf double oleander coming to blow, it came from Paris, Mrs Scott gave it to Mamma <11> & we carry it with us because it is so precious. We sent home a bundle of plants from hence, but Mamma could not bring herself to move the primula so it travells with us.

W. H. F. Talbot Esqre
31 Sackville Street
London


Notes:

1. Jane Harriot Nicholl, ne Talbot (17961874).

2. Penrice Castle and Penrice House, Gower, Glamorgan, 10 mi SW of Swansea: home of Christopher Rice Mansel Talbot.

3. Charlotte Louisa 'Charry' Traherne, ne Talbot (18001880), WHFTs cousin.

4. Christopher Rice Mansel Talbot (18031890), immensely wealthy landowner, mathematician & politician; WHFTs Welsh cousin.

5. See Doc. No: 00983.

6. Herbert Marsh (17571839), Bishop of Llandaff (18161819), then Bishop of Peterborough.

7. See Doc. No: 00982.

8. Page torn away under seal.

9. Mezires-sur-Seine, approximately 40 km from Paris.

10. Lady Elisabeth Theresa Feilding, ne Fox Strangways, first m Talbot (17731846), WHFTs mother.

11. Lady Mary Lucy Cole, ne Strangways, first m. Talbot (17761855), WHFTs aunt.

Result number 20 of 154:   < Back     Back to results list   Next >