link to Talbot Project home page link to De Montfort University home page link to Glasgow University home page
Project Director: Professor Larry J Schaaf

Back to the letter search >

Result number 130 of 163:   < Back     Back to results list   Next >  

Document number: 9881
Date: 16 May 1872
Recipient: TALBOT William Henry Fox
Author: TALBOT Rosamond Constance
Collection: British Library, London, Manuscripts - Fox Talbot Collection
Collection number: Acc 22757 [envelope only]
Last updated: 20th April 2012

Bath 16th May

My dear Papa,

We were glad to hear, from all your letters, that you have accomplished your business successfully in Edinburgh, and continued to see several of your friends notwithstanding the dismal weather; but only think of your having waited, to pay a visit to Mr Fraser’s antiquarian collection, until you had ceased to be a resident, & came only as a casual passer-bye. I hope you had the same sudden change of weather as we have had, for your journey to Speddoch. It was a sudden transition from mid-winter to Summer, greatly appreciated by the inhabitants of Bath who were all en féte for a grand flower show: and most lucky also for Mama’s move to Lacock; indeed she could not really have gone on any previous day. Mamie begs you to thank Tilly for a very amusing letter describing their visit to Wigtoun Shire; and which she will answer soon. Now we hope to hear before long of Tilly’s and John’s plans, and whether they are coming to us first, or to London. I expect also, you know, a particular account from you of the Baby who as everybody says is so very pretty. You must find a great difference in all the children, not having seen them for two years, and Willie must have made wonderful progress in that time.

Our pink thorns and red chesnuts are at last making a pretty show although they have been sadly dashed by rain and wind.

Love to Tilly & Kisses to all the small ones –

Your most affectionate daughter

H. F. Talbot Esqre

Result number 130 of 163:   < Back     Back to results list   Next >