link to Talbot Project home page link to De Montfort University home page link to Glasgow University home page
Project Director: Professor Larry J Schaaf

Back to the letter search >

Result number 13 of 16:   < Back     Back to results list   Next >  

Document number: 302
Date: 04 May 1837 or later
Dating: reference to WHFT's 'girls'
Recipient: TALBOT William Henry Fox
Author: THACKERAY Mary Ann, née Shakespear
Collection: British Library, London, Manuscripts - Fox Talbot Collection
Last updated: 2nd August 2010

May 4th
Waltham Cross

My dear Henry

Mr Thackeray <1> & myself beg to enclose you a Power of Attorney which we shall be obliged to you to sign to release a sum of £435–7–6 Consols 3 pr Cents which you will perceive by the enclosed Banker’s letter were invested by Mr Thackeray in August 1837 in the name of the joint trustees of our Marriage Settlement, it has nothing whatever to do with the money settled on myself & children We have already the Signature of Mr Ritchie who is so kind as to say he will call with the papers

We shall be obliged to you to return it to us by return of post – I hope your little girls & Mrs Talbot <2> are quite well. Mr Thackeray desires me to add his remembrances

believe me yrs sincerely
M A Thackeray


1. Francis Thackeray (1793–1842), clergyman and author.

2. Constance Talbot, née Mundy (1811–1880), WHFT’s wife. The reference to 'girls' is plural: Ela Theresa Talbot (25 Apr 1835 - 25 Apr 1893), WHFT's 1st daughter; Rosamond Constance Talbot (16 Mar 1837 - 7 May 1906, died & buried at San Remo, Italy), 'Monie', artist & WHFT's 2nd daughter; and, depending on the date of this letter, possibly Matilda Caroline Gilchrist-Clark, née Talbot (25 Feb 1839-1927), 'Tilly', WHFT's 3rd daughter.

Result number 13 of 16:   < Back     Back to results list   Next >