link to Talbot Project home page link to De Montfort University home page link to Glasgow University home page
Project Director: Professor Larry J Schaaf
 

Back to the letter search >

Result number 2 of 68:   < Back     Back to results list   Next >  

Document number: 360
Date: 19 Jul
Recipient: TALBOT William Henry Fox
Author: TRAHERNE Charlotte Louisa, née Talbot
Collection: British Library, London, Manuscripts - Fox Talbot Collection
Last updated: 19th November 2012

July 19th
Coedriglan <1>

My dear Henry

I enclose a flower of some pretty orobus which you I think gave formerly to my dear mother <2> we want to know the name of it the colour is a peculiar orange-lake or reddish pink & it blows beautifully this is a very small specimen but I hope large enough for you to make it out. I dare say your children & their cousins from Margam <3> much enjoyed themselves together & I hope we shall by & by know the pleasure of seeing you all here We are now soon (4th of next month) intending to go to Shrewsbury, Chester & North Wales all new country to me so I expect to be much amused if we have tolerable weather I dare say your garden is very beautiful how fine the roses are this year I should like you to see our garden too the Chinese [sic] larkspur is vy fine now love to Mrs Talbot <4>

Your aff cousin
Charlotte Traherne


Notes:

1. Coedriglan, near Cardiff, Wales: home of the Rev John Montgomerie Traherne, husband of WHFTs cousin Charlotte.

2. Lady Mary Lucy Cole, ne Strangways, first m. Talbot (17761855), WHFTs aunt.

3. Margam Park, Glamorgan: home of Christopher Rice Mansel Talbot.

4. Constance Talbot, ne Mundy (18111880), WHFTs wife.

Result number 2 of 68:   < Back     Back to results list   Next >