link to Talbot Project home page link to De Montfort University home page link to Glasgow University home page
Project Director: Professor Larry J Schaaf

Back to the letter search >

Result number 6 of 68:   < Back     Back to results list   Next >  

Document number: 1195
Date: 09 Jul 1824
Postmark: 20 Jul 1824
Recipient: TALBOT William Henry Fox
Author: TRAHERNE Charlotte Louisa, née Talbot
Collection: British Library, London, Manuscripts - Fox Talbot Collection
Collection number historic: LA24-42
Last updated: 20th February 2012

Malvern Wells
July 9th

My dear Henry

Your letters have been a very great pleasure to us both as descriptions of interesting things and as marks of affection which must be always received with joy however well convinced we may be of your sentiments beforehand - but somehow you have found out exactly the things we want to know about so I hope you will go on, though I confess I do not deserve it but as Hamlet says treat us not according to our deserts but your own generosity! I have had your letter <1> from Venice & Bella & Emma <2> have had theirs from Vienna - We have been here about a week - Mr Lemon Aunt C. & Augusta <3> are here - he is going on mending & they are very well we live very near them and dine and drink reciprocally at each others dwellings - the weather has been too wet as yet for us to make any rural expeditions - but the hills are soon dry and we walk between the showers - the sunsets here are beautiful - All the Maiden Newton <4> people are at Cheltenham and we are trying to make them come here to see us I don't at all know how long we stay so you had best direct still to Penrice <5> as it makes but a day's difference - did you get a letter <6> Bella wrote to you at Venice? Perhaps you have heard how ill Kerry <7> has been if so you will be glad to know he is recovering fast - it was an inflamation [sic] of the lungs which he caught by exposing himself to the cold too soon after the measles - he was in great danger for some days - Jane <8> is still in London - very well and so are all belonging to her - Aunt Harriet <9> and her daughters are at Cowes and so is Kit <10> - yesterday was the day fixed for the Giulia <11> to race with a Mr Smiths' yatch [sic] we are anxious to hear the result - it was a beautiful day for the purpose. The Framptons enjoy the bathing and shell picking at Cowes exceedingly Don't forget to send me in a letter D Kennst du das Land <12> We have never got the drawing Caroline <13> sent to Emma - by what conveyance was it sent? Our present German studies are very humble consisting of "Der Kinderfreund" it is amusing and in a pretty style - There were I think only three of your mixture of seeds come up when we left home - the annuals you sent Mama <14> were all very flourishing then, and I hope we shall go back time enough to see them in beauty - your iris lusitanica blew beautifully and the next day the head was eaten off by a rabbit! these tiresome creatures have quite enraged us we have killed five or six yet still we cannot get rid of them though we cannot find where they come in - I wish I could tell you something of our plans but the truth is we have none - sometimes we talk of staying here till September - sometimes of going to Cheltenham sometimes of going into Dorsetshire in the Autumn - Pray ask Caroline or Horatia <15> to write to me for I would lose something for want of asking though I have little hopes of their compliance which therefore I should be the more grateful for & I promise to answer 'upon my word' I wish I knew as well what you would like to hear about as you contrive to do for us instead of making you read this long rigmarole & bestowing all my tediousness upon you - but it will at least shew you I am still your affectionate cousin Charlotte

Mary <16> & Bella are very well & she will write to you "incessament" Mama & Emma & I are pretty well Mr Lemon and Aunt Charlotte are going to town for a few days to Miss Lemon's wedding <17>

à Monsieur
Mr H. Talbot

Baden Baden
poste restante


1. Letter not located.

2. Isabella Catherine Franklen, née Talbot (1804-1874), and Emma Thomasina Llewelyn, née Talbot (1806-1881), photographer; WHFT's Welsh cousin. Letters have not been located.

3. Sir Charles Lemon (1784-1868), politician & scientist; WHFT's uncle; Lady Charlotte Anne Lemon, née Strangways (d. 1826), WHFT's aunt; and their daughter Augusta Lemon (d. 1825).

4. The Rev the Hon Charles Redlynch Fox Strangways (1761–1836), rector of Rewe, Devon, of Maiden Newton, Dorset, and of Kilmington, Somerset, and his wife Jane. Susan and Fanny, their daughters (Susannah and Frances), are mentioned frequently in the Correspondence.

5. Penrice Castle and Penrice House, Gower, Glamorgan, 10 mi SW of Swansea: home of Christopher Rice Mansel Talbot.

6. Possibly Doc. No: 01197.

7. William Thomas Fitzmaurice, Earl of Kerry (1811-1836), MP. [See Doc. No: 01187].

8. Jane Harriot Nicholl, née Talbot (1796-1874).

9. Lady Harriet Frampton, née Fox Strangways (d. 1844) .

10. Christopher Rice Mansel Talbot (1803-1890), immensely wealthy landowner, mathematician & politician; WHFT's Welsh cousin.

11. Christopher Talbot's yacht.

12. Kennst du das Land, 'know'st thou the land', Mignon's song from Wilhelm Meister's Lehrjahre, by Johann Wolfgang von Goethe.

13. Caroline Augusta Edgcumbe, née Feilding, Lady Mt Edgcumbe (1808-1881); WHFT's half-sister.

14. Lady Mary Lucy Cole, née Strangways, first m. Talbot (1776-1855), WHFT's aunt.

15. Henrietta Horatia Maria Gaisford, née Feilding (1810-1851), WHFT's half-sister.

16. Mary Thereza Talbot (1795-1861), WHFT's cousin.

17. The wedding took place on 13 July 1824. [See Doc. No: 01196].

Result number 6 of 68:   < Back     Back to results list   Next >