link to Talbot Project home page link to De Montfort University home page link to Glasgow University home page
Project Director: Professor Larry J Schaaf

Back to the letter search >

Result number 7 of 68:   < Back     Back to results list   Next >  

Document number: 1330
Date: 05 Dec 1825
Recipient: TALBOT William Henry Fox
Author: TRAHERNE Charlotte Louisa, née Talbot
Collection: British Library, London, Manuscripts - Fox Talbot Collection
Collection number historic: LA25(MW)-070
Last updated: 1st September 2003

Penrice <1>

Decr 5 1825.

My dear Henry

I have not returned so long as you suppose, having arrived here only on the 22nd November I was detained a week at Plymouth by an attack of illness. I can assure you I was not so fortunate as you imagine in escaping those tremendous gales in the beginning of November – That of the 3rd was the most awful I ever saw or remember – luckily we had good searoom being 300 miles to the Westward of Oporto. We had rain, sleet, hail, thunder & lightning & the most prodigious sea I ever saw – We had also a very smart North Easter in the chops of the channel with very hard snow-squalls, in short nine days out of thirteen it blew a gale of wind. And yet we went through it all as comfortably as if we had been in harbour, except once when a sea broke on board & made its way down on our dinner table – I am sure as you interest yourself in these matters, you will be glad to hear that the Galatea <2> is as easy as an old glove, & as stiff as a church

I have no intention of going to Paris before January or February but I have a mind to go to London for a few days, I am coming to Moreton <3> where I hope I shall see you, & as Jane <4> informs me you are going to London, perhaps we might arrange to go together – I shall be delighted to meet you at Corfu my plan is to land at Bordeaux go to Bayonne Madrid Seville & meet the yacht at Cadiz thence to Malaga & Granada & then up the Mediterranean coasting the Spanish shore to avoid the necessity of frequent quarantine – I never regretted leaving <any?> <5> place more than Cadiz, the glorious situation & climate produced a cons<idble?> elasticity of spirit which I miss in this hazy damp atmosphere, I could not have brought myself to leave it had not the Galatea required fitting up her cabins afresh. Next time I pass that way I must have myself like Ulysses lashed to the mainmast, or I shall never see Naples –

Believe me Dear Henry Your Aff Cousin

C Talbot

Swansea December five. 1825 Chrishr Cole. <6>
Henry Talbot Esqre


1. Penrice Castle and Penrice House, Gower, Glamorgan, 10 mi SW of Swansea: home of Christopher Rice Mansel Talbot.

2. Christopher Talbot’s yacht.

3. Moreton, Dorset: home of the Frampton family.

4. Jane Harriot Nicholl, née Talbot (1796–1874).

5. Text torn away under seal.

6. Sir Christopher Cole (1770–1836), Captain, MP & naval officer.

Result number 7 of 68:   < Back     Back to results list   Next >