link to Talbot Project home page link to De Montfort University home page link to Glasgow University home page
Project Director: Professor Larry J Schaaf

Back to the letter search >

Result number 9 of 68:   < Back     Back to results list   Next >  

Document number: 1497
Date: 24 Oct 1826
Postmark: 28 Oct 1826
Recipient: TALBOT William Henry Fox
Author: TRAHERNE Charlotte Louisa, née Talbot
Collection: British Library, London, Manuscripts - Fox Talbot Collection
Last updated: 20th February 2012

Penrice <1>
Oct 24th

My dear Henry

I was half inclined to quarrel with the very pretty lithographic drawing you sent me the other day because it was unaccompanied by a single line from yourself – tis a lazy way of pleasing me which I do not approve of – if you knew how fond I am of receiving letters! but it is too bad to grumble instead of thanking you so I have done – next time I lithographize I shall set it up for my pattern for it is in just the style I like. – I had a letter from Kit <2> yesterday from Cadiz dated the fifteenth Sept & Sir C <3> had one dated the twenty seventh for the packet was detained which gave him time to write again he has sent home some Sherry for Capt Feilding <4> They intend going to Malaga by land, by way of Ronda & [illegible]. – and embark again at Malaga beyond that he has not said what he intends to do – except going to Naples where we are to direct to him – he talks of some pictures he has been rather tempted by – I should like him to buy some very much – Murillo <5> is so very pleasing a painter – the Galatea <6> he says is greatly dreaded wherever she appears being taken for a Columbian corsair – We are to set out for Dorsetshire in a few days – I had flattered myself with the hopes of meeting you there as it is in general a sort of gathering point for all the stray members of the family – it is so many years now since I have been there that I have a secret sort of dread at the idea of revisiting the places where I have been so happy with those who are gone – how many I shall miss –

We talk of returning home at Christmas – if we do I hope you will come and see us for surely the interval since your last visit will have been long enough – I hope you are no longer under any uneasiness about Aunt Lily’s <7> health – Mama <8> was very much alarmed by the accounts of her at one time I hope your sisters are well, give my love to them and tell them I love them as little as can possibly help, because it would be too great a torment to love people dearly whose society I have so little chance of enjoying – I am sorry I am so stupid as to be unable to send you any news from the garden but I have been so busy digging and replanting my own that I have had no leisure to do the usual rounds of the seed-boxes to see whether any thing new of Henry’s is come up – our Guernsey lilies, some Kit brought, have been beautiful Mama’s eyes have been very bad – and Sir Christopher has been far from well – the others are all well and I have been better since the weather grew cooler. – your very affectionate cousin Charlotte T.

W.H.F. Talbot Esqre
31 Sackville Street


1. Penrice Castle and Penrice House, Gower, Glamorgan, 10 mi SW of Swansea: home of Christopher Rice Mansel Talbot.

2. Christopher Rice Mansel Talbot (1803–1890), immensely wealthy landowner, mathematician & politician; WHFT’s Welsh cousin.

3. Sir Christopher Cole (1770–1836), Captain, MP & naval officer.

4. Rear Admiral Charles Feilding (1780–1837), Royal Navy; WHFT’s step-father.

5. Bartolomé Esteban Murillo (1617–1682), painter.

6. Christopher Talbot’s yacht.

7. Lady Elisabeth Theresa Feilding, née Fox Strangways, first m Talbot (1773–1846), WHFT’s mother.

8. Lady Mary Lucy Cole, née Strangways, first m. Talbot (1776–1855), WHFT’s aunt.

Result number 9 of 68:   < Back     Back to results list   Next >