link to Talbot Project home page link to De Montfort University home page link to Glasgow University home page
Project Director: Professor Larry J Schaaf

Back to the letter search >

Document number: 00797
Date: 11 May 1818
Recipient: TALBOT William Henry Fox
Author: FEILDING Elisabeth Theresa, née Fox Strangways
Collection: British Library, London, Manuscripts - Fox Talbot Collection
Collection number historic: LA18-12
Last updated: 21st February 2012

Sackville Street <1>
May 11th

My Dearest Henry

I did receive your most entertaining Letter, <2> when I was convalescent <3> & it amused me so much it helped to recover me, for amusement is very wholsome [sic]. I was confined to the House for 3 weeks & to my bed for some days of that time, but I am now whats called well tho’ with an entire absence of strength. I am quite astounded to hear the vacation begins before we had formed any plans for it, which we must have a little time to think of. Let me know what you incline to. I incline towards France but there are rumours that the D. of Wellington <4> says it will not be safe for the English after the [illegible deletion] Army is recalled. We have just heard that poor little James Frampton <5> was released from his sufferings Saturday last at Weymouth. <6> I wish they could go abroad & have some change of scene after a confinement of 3 years to his sick couch. Caroline & Horatia <7> have got a Country house, in the Regents Park, in very good air tho’ its not above half a [text missing] <8> of time. Its in the midst of green fields & they enjoy it excessively tho’ it is not a very romantic situation – I pity yr annuity Studies, tho’ they are not so horrid to you as they would be to

your anticalculating but very affectionate

London May eleven 1818 Auckland <9>
Hy Fox Talbot Esqr
Trinity College
Cambridge –


1. 31 Sackville Street, London residence of the Feildings, often used as a London base by WHFT.

2. Letter not located.

3. See Doc. No: 00794.

4. Arthur Wellesley, Duke of Wellington (1769–1852), was in command of the forces that defeated Napoleon.

5. A son of James Frampton (1769–1855), High Sheriff, and his wife Lady Harriet Frampton, née Fox Strangways (d. 1844) .

6. Weymouth, Dorset.

7. Caroline Augusta Edgcumbe, née Feilding, Lady Mt Edgcumbe (1808–1881); WHFT’s half-sister, and Henrietta Horatia Maria Gaisford, née Feilding (1810–1851), WHFT’s half-sister.

8. Text torn away under seal.

9. George Eden, 1st Earl of Auckland (1784–1849), Governor General of India.