link to Talbot Project home page link to De Montfort University home page link to Glasgow University home page
Project Director: Professor Larry J Schaaf

Back to the letter search >

Document number: 00826
Date: 29 Oct 1818
Dating: confirmed by Doc no 00823
Recipient: TALBOT William Henry Fox
Author: FEILDING Charles
Collection: British Library, London, Manuscripts - Fox Talbot Collection
Collection number historic: LA18-35
Last updated: 4th July 2010

28 October.

My dear Henry.

I have no great deal to say or much time to express that little - but <1> as I am getting away from the Carlisle post Office - I send you word of it that you may direct your letter to S: St <2> not that I am yet going there but that they will forward my letters from thence. I wonder not to have heard from you, & hope that you have been better occupied - My Tour has been shortened considerably we did not go to Glasgow but came from Drumlanrig <3> to Edinburgh with which place I was very much struck, it is the most singular Town I have ever seen - we were there 3 days & are now proceeding South - I shall be at Ld Granthams <4> for one week by the time you receive this letter then at Sprotbrough <5> till the 20th Nov. & at Cambridge by the last day of the month - but I will let you know the exact day time enough - I am sure you will have been very much shocked at poor Charles FitzGerald's <6> miserable end - & have felt for me, & my sisters great distress of mind in thus losing a 4th grown up child.<7> & in such a horrid way. The state of cultivation in Scotland has much disappointed me (though in some parts it is beautiful) & the habitations of the poorer orders are wretched beyond description - We were unlucky in the time of year we were at Edin: none of the clever people happened to be there & the courts of justice being closed I had no opportunity of hearing any of their eloquent speakers which I was very anxious to do - my sport shooting has been much less than I expected amounting indeed to nothing. God bless you my dear boy Pray write to me

Yr ever affe Friend



1. Possibly deleted.

2. 31 Sackville Street, London residence of the Feildings, often used as a London base by WHFT.

3. Seat of the Charles William Henry Douglas-Scott, 4th Duke of Buccleuch, 6th Duke of Queensberry (1772-1819) in Dumfriesshire. [See Doc. No: 00823].

4. Thomas Philip Robinson, 3rd Baron Grantham (1781-1859).

5. Sprotborough Hall, Doncaster.

6. Charles Feilding Fitzgerald (1795 - 5 October 1818), the nephew of Charles Feilding. He drowned while shooting duck at his aunt's, Lady Charolotte Strutt, Baroness Rayleigh, née Fitzgerald. [See Doc. No: 00824].

7. Lady Sophia-Charlotte Fitzgerald, née Feilding (d. 1834). Of her many children, the ones she lost were Robert (d. 1812), Emily (d. 1816), Louisa (d. 1816) and Charles (d. 1818).