link to Talbot Project home page link to De Montfort University home page link to Glasgow University home page
Project Director: Professor Larry J Schaaf

Back to the letter search >

Document number: 02714
Date: 21 Jun 1833
Postscript: 22 Jun
Recipient: FEILDING Elisabeth Theresa, née Fox Strangways
Author: TALBOT William Henry Fox
Collection: British Library, London, Manuscripts - Fox Talbot Collection
Collection number historic: LA(H)33-10
Last updated: 31st December 2012

Boulogne, Hotel des Bains.
June 21st 1833.

My Dear Mother,

We left Dover this morning at 11 o’clock & came to Boulogne at 4 – We had a passage of 5 hours, the first half of it was calm but the last half there was a great deal of swell & we were all very uncomfortable – The day is one of brilliant sunshine, but there is a fresh breeze – Boulogne has I think a nice appearance, this inn is very smart and clean – We have all been taking warm baths, and in the mean while dinner is getting ready – I don’t think we shall go any further this evening – Dominico & the Chariot arrived last night at midnight. He was on the quay looking out for us –

Yours affly

[Turn over quite]

The Customhouse seized the linen cloth, as might have been expected.

Mrs Jones <1> had never heard of seasickness, so when she felt herself growing unwell she was very much frightened and said Oh dear! if I could have a Doctor!

June 22d 8 A.M.

We are just setting off. Yesterday evening at 7 we took a drive to the Column on the hill.

Lady E. Feilding
31 Sackville St


1. Mrs. C. Jones, a lady's made apparently from north-east Wales, accompanied the Talbots on a tour of France and Switzerland in 1833. Amélina Petit purchased a blank diary for her in Paris, and it is preserved in the National Library of Wales, MSS 23248A.