link to Talbot Project home page link to De Montfort University home page link to Glasgow University home page
Project Director: Professor Larry J Schaaf

Back to the letter search >

Document number: 03016
Date: 11 Dec 1834
Recipient: FEILDING Charles
Author: TALBOT William Henry Fox
Collection: British Library, London, Manuscripts - Fox Talbot Collection
Collection number historic: LA(H)34-15
Last updated: 8th February 2011

11th Decr 1834

My Dear Mr F.

I hope this letter will find you perfectly recovered and able to enjoy the fine climate and beautiful scenery of Nice – I wish I was there instead of in this land of eternal politics, elections and poor laws <1> – Do you ever go on the sea? I should think an occasional sail into Villafranca bay would amuse you, or if well enough I think you might go some fine day by steam to Genoa and ride home by the corniche <2> and see the new road – that would be a change of scene for a few days – We have got a snug little ménage here, and have invited the Moores <3> to pay us a visit, as our cook is not a bad one. We have existed hitherto without a carriage, but have now got coachman and horses. – Mrs Gwynne <4> having locked up all the coffee cups but one, or two, we are obliged to have the locks opened in search of those and similar necessaries of life. You will be glad to hear the Canal Company <5> have quitted the gravel pit, after paying me 20 guineas; little enough, for the damage; and I have begun planting it with pretty large young trees, already they make a good efffect.

Mr John Awdry’s <6> family are in affliction at the death of his eldest son’s wife at Bombay, she was a very amiable person I believe. Mr Henry Awdry’s son <7> who is in India is distinguishing himself and prospering exceedingly; he is appointed governor over a district some hundred miles long, where he lives sixty miles from any other white man, in solitary grandeur, with the power of imprisoning whoever he pleases, without appeals. –

Yours affly


1. WHFT was MP for Chippenham 1833–1834, and sat in the first reform parliament under Charles Grey. Grey brought in the 1834 ‘Poor Law Amendment Act’.

2. The Corniche Road, coastal road from Nice to Genoa with panoramic views.

3. Thomas Moore (1780–1852), Irish poet; and his wife, Elizabeth (Bessie) Moore, née Dyke (1783-1865).

4. Mrs Gwynne (d. winter 1841/1842), lady’s maid, cook and housekeeper to Elisabeth Feilding.

5. See Doc. No: 07490.

6. John Awdry (1766–1844), solicitor, Reybridge.

7. Henry Goddard Awdry (1804–1881), solicitor, Chippenham.