link to Talbot Project home page link to De Montfort University home page link to Glasgow University home page
Project Director: Professor Larry J Schaaf

Back to the letter search >

Document number: 04181
Date: Thu 28 Jan 1841
Recipient: TALBOT William Henry Fox
Author: TALBOT Constance, née Mundy
Collection: British Library, London, Manuscripts - Fox Talbot Collection
Collection number historic: LA41-005
Last updated: 1st September 2003

Thursday Jan 28. –

My dear Henry

I hope the lovely weather which you had yesterday for your journey, kept off the toothache. – I am very anxious to hear how it is & also whether you arrived in Sackville Street <1> without alarm or inconvenience from the Railroad. – Nichole <2> wishes me to tell you that we have determined to part with Alfred <3> today, & allow him to go home – for he continues far from well & quite unfit to do any work. Mr Elgie is of opinion that he is consumptive and that his best chance of recovery is to return to his old habits & way of living. – Nichol <sic> tells me that he is greatly in want of clothes & especially of a flannel waistcoat: having but one, which he is compelled to take off at times & consequently catches cold. – With my sanction, therefore, Nichole has given him an old one of yours which he says you cannot wear. – Pullen <4> will give such assistance in the house as Nichole requires till we meet with a permanent servant – I hope Nichole will easily find one – & as he is going over to Bath on Saturday he can begin by enquiring there. If he does not succeed at Bath he will afterwards write to Hallam. <5> – And I think it will be much the best place to trust the whole affair to Nichole himself, according to our arrangement the other day. – I remind you of this lest you should forget & hastily engage one in London yourself. –

I have forwarded a letter for you today, & enclosed one in an envelope yesterday, which I was compelled to fold, but hope it did not suffer thereby – I guess it to be from M. Biot. <6>

I have felt very strange these 2 evenings that I have passed alone. – but not more so than I expected – nor have the hours appeared long – nor have I felt nervous like poor Mrs Moore, <7> whom I sincerely compassionate in that respect. –

Your affectionate



1. 31 Sackville Street, London residence of the Feildings, often used as a London base by WHFT.

2. Nicolaas Henneman (1813–1898), Dutch, active in England; WHFT’s valet, then assistant; photographer.

3. A temporary servant.

4. William Pullen, Lacock Abbey coachman.

5. Samuel Hallam.

6. Jean-Baptiste Biot (1774–1862), French scientist.

7. Elizabeth (Bessie) Moore, née Dyke (1783–1865), wife of the poet Thomas Moore.