link to Talbot Project home page link to De Montfort University home page link to Glasgow University home page
Project Director: Professor Larry J Schaaf

Back to the letter search >

Document number: 05946
Date: 16 May 1847
Recipient: TALBOT Constance, née Mundy
Author: TALBOT William Henry Fox
Collection: British Library, London, Manuscripts - Fox Talbot Collection
Collection number historic: LA47-049
Last updated: 1st September 2003


May 16. 1847

My Dear Constance

Please to direct to me at the Athenæum Club. <1>

Mr Awdry <2> has paid £450 to your account with the Melksham bank.

You will find some seeds on my library table, besides those I gave you – I wish you to sow them in pots which may stand in the old greenhouse till the new one is ready. One kind is from Mr Bridges <3> from Mt Etna.

I think of going to the Alps for a few weeks to get a little mountain air, if I find that Nicole <4> can do without me on his first starting –

Your affte


Round the brick wall of the greenhouse I wish for a trellis or lattice with sweet peas – This will require a bed of earth 6 inches wide and will narrow the gravel walk to that extent. I wish Charles <5> to sow a bed of lupins for me somewhere in my botanic garden and water them when they come up – If he is not inclined to be a gardener let Matilda <6> do it – There are 8 kinds of lupins in my packet – one which is written illegibly is Rose lupin.


1. Athenaeum Club, Pall Mall, London: WHFT’s club; a gentleman’s club composed primarily of artists and scientists.

2. West Awdry (1807–1892), solicitor, Chippenham.

3. Rev George Wilson Bridges (1788–1863), photographer & traveller. [See Doc. No: 05840].

4. Nicolaas Henneman (1813–1898), Dutch, active in England; WHFT’s valet, then assistant; photographer.

5. Charles Henry Talbot (1842–1916), antiquary & WHFT’s only son.

6. Matilda Caroline Gilchrist-Clark, ‘Tilly’, née Talbot (1839–1927), WHFT’s 3rd daughter.